Strictly Come Dancing 2013: week eleven

No Bruce. Spectacular.

Swing-a-thon. Not so.

Ashley Taylor Dawson and Ola Jordan – Salsa to ‘Conga’ (Gloria Estefan)

I always thought the Salsa would suit Ashley and I guess it did, in a way. It was so full on and largely good technique laden with ambitious and charismatic lifts! Like when Ashley ran at Ola and bent her neck back. Overall a really fun routine and good for the party spirit of a Saturday evening. AND PROPS FOR FITTING MUSIC (that’s sadly lacking in abundance lately).

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Natalie Gumede and Artem Chigvintsev – Paso Doble to ‘El Gato Montes’ (Ramon Cortez Paso doble Orchestra)

Another great song choice. Not so stuck on the outfit for Artem but I’ll keep that to myself.

Given the amount of attack in her other routines, I was a little disappointed by this from Natalie. I felt it lacked fierceness and…that sense of bravery and courage other Pasos have shown. The technique and positioning was good – but not brilliant – and Len Goodman’s comments really summed up this one better than anybody ever will (who said that it lacked any togetherness and they prattled about like germaphobes)

Maybe that’s why he has his chest out.

My score: 7

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 8, Bruno 9 = 35/40

*cancels Len’s sainthood*

Patrick Robinson and Anya Garnis – Rumba to ‘When I Was Your Man’ (Bruno Mars)

I admit that I’d written this off a bit before it started – as I so often do with Rumba’s – and slated the song choice massively. But it sort of worked. Well it did work. Passably well.  It told a story of love and lust although it was a little safe to me. Lots of walking instead of floating sweetly about.

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 10, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

Susanna Reid and Kevin Clifton – Argentine Tango to ‘Smooth Criminal’ (Michael Jackson)

Dodgy vocals klaxon.

Which ruined the dance a little bit for me. Strip that away and you get the dance itself. The steps were there and so was the attack from Susanna but I’m not sure if Kevin being uncomfortable in this genre had some sort of impact on Susanna. I’d go as far to say that she was better than him, but that made her doubt her approach to the dance and soften it. Her legwork is just outstanding though and props to her with all those solo steps.

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 32/40

Abbey Clancy and Aljaž Skorjanec – Viennese Waltz to ‘Delilah’ (Tom Jones)

And the second of the bizarre song choices.

Traditional VW full of good technique and lots of spiny spin spins. Her top line is beautiful and her extensions are so elegant. Since it was really good, nothing more to say.

My score: 9

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 10 = 37/40

Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Brendan Cole – Tango to ‘Material Girl’ (Madonna)

Oh yes, I DON’T GET THIS SONG CHOICE. Who is picking this year?

Strip away the music and it was straight out the ‘display window’ and into hold with great conviction. It was different – very different. Brendan’s choreography put a whole new spin on the Tango which I think worked.

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 9 = 34/40

Swing-A-Thon

This is a horrific edition to the line-up of the Quarter Final for the past few years. It’s messy and a gigantic car crash as everybody fights for the spotlight, with couples routinely getting chucked off the floor in the order of their failings(/order concocted beforehand in some eyes). The first 20 seconds were choreographed and then HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL. First out = lowest points.

1 point: Susanna and Kevin.

2 points: Ashley and Ola.

3 points: Abbey and Aljaž.

4 points: Sophie and Brendan.

5 points: Patrick and Anya.

6 points: Natalie and Artem.

Well, that was….pretty much proving my earlier point.

 

 

 

Posted on December 7, 2013, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Spot on, Natasha, as usual!

    I’m liking Len more and more. He seems to be dropping his genial persona a bit and telling it how it is. Good on him.

    The “Swing-a-thon” was ridiculous (and where did the “thon” bit come from? It lasted, what, three minutes?). I’ve danced in similar things myself in comps, but I’ve never seen anyone booted out after about 10 seconds. They’re usually just a bit of fun – often with a randomly selected partner – but this one could affect who does or doesn’t go through to the next round.

    Like

Tell Tasha.

