Strictly Come Dancing 2013: week ten

Now, it’s important to make sure it doesn’t look like fancy dress

And that the dancers don’t look daft, either.

Anything Goes seems like an appropriate opening number since it has sort of been the motto for choreography/scoring/eliminations this series.

Patrick Robinson and Anya Garnis – Charleston to ‘Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’ (Dick Van Dyke and Sally Ann Howes)

Wowza, what a start! Impeccable timing, brilliant choreography, great mix of genres within the routine and incredibly fast. Their facial expressions could have their own show; such a story to tell.

Probably their best dance so far. Nothing went wrong either, costume or otherwise.

My score: 10

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 38/40

Natalie Gumede and Artem Chigvintsev – American Smooth to ‘I Am Telling You I’m Not Going’ (Dreamgirls, Jennifer Hudson)

See, she’s great and everything but I just didn’t like it. Hardly in hold (think I read it should be 40% in hold) and just seemed so…theatrical and stagey. I can’t see them as a couple – no chemistry.

Len agrees.

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 8, Bruno 10 = 36/40

Scoring doesn’t.

Mark Benton and Iveta Lukosiute – Samba to ‘I Just Can’t Wait To Be King’ (The Lion King)

Mark waddled about the floor like a lost looking child dressed up by his parents for a party. It didn’t really appear to be, well, anything. I don’t know, I’m speechless. Time to go?

My score: 7

Actual score: Craig 7, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 8 = 29/40

Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Brendan Cole – Viennese Waltz ‘My Favourite Things’ (Sound Of Music, Julie Andrews)

Simple and careful choreography from Brendan once again which showcased Sophie’s ability well gliding around the floor. She never dropped out of hold once, never dropped her frame and didn’t faint from all the spinning. Perfect.

My score: 10

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

Abbey Clancy and Aljaž Skorjanec – Salsa to ‘You Should Be Dancing’ (Saturday Night Fever, Bee Gees)

It is quite hard to comment on a salsa that was like a night at the disco. It was really fun and enjoyable as well as really well danced. Just, not a salsa. I guess that is a choreography shtick though so bravo Abbey!

My score: …….?

Actual score: Craig 10, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 40/40

Full house. Anything Goes.

Ashley Taylor Dawson and Ola Jordan – Rumba to ‘A Whole New World’ (Aladdin, Peabo Bryson and Regina Belle)

Normally a challenging dance for the male celebrities – as is always mentioned, as well – but it actually didn’t seem that unsuited to Ashley. He’s an actor so he can play the sensual fortune teller and get away with it. Brilliant choreography and not so uncomfortable to watch. Standard of rumbas has been high this series.

My score: 9

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Susanna Reid and Kevin Clifton – Quickstep to ‘Good Morning’ (Singin’ In The Rain, Tommy Steele)

My favourite journalist (one of) and my favourite genre mix so a good way to end a good show. Think the footwork suffered with the pace of the dance in places but it was largely on time and energetic enough to balance out the mini mistakes.

My score: 9

Actual score: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 33/40

 

Mamma Mia! What a show!

Posted on November 30, 2013, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You didn’t give a score for Abbey? I thought she was wooden and didn’t deserve the 40. Keep up your blog!

    Like

  2. When Len said that Natalie’s dance was all very well, but it just wasn’t ballroom dancing (I’m paraphrasing), I practically stood up and cheered. It needed saying. So pleased you agree!

    Like

Tell Tasha.

