Strictly Come Dancing 2013: week seven

Strictly Come Back Injuries continues this week as James Jordan opts out of professional routines and Natalie Gumede was forced to pull out* of tonight’s show (just tonight, as far as we’re aware) after fainting twice during rehearsals.

(Honestly, Susanna Reid works for the BBC and they still can’t spell her name. I mean, big company yes but she’s a pinnacle of the news department. And kind of a big name lately)

So. No Artem. No Pasha. No James. No Robin. And Dave Myers in a kilt.

But we have Claudia…

Ben Cohen and Kristina Rihanoff – Jive to ‘Jump Jive an’ Wail’ (Burn the Floor Orchestra)

Not his best dance – not sure this one suited him – but it was good! Nice footwork and a vibrant theme/sub-plot running throughout. I prefer him in Ballroom, though.

My score: 6

Actual score: Craig 4, Darcey 7, Len 8, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Fiona Fullerton and Anton Du Beke – Paso Doble to ‘Song 2’ (Blur)

You know something? I really enjoyed this routine from Fiona and Anton. I dare to say that the Paso suits Fiona! Nice timing, good skirt work and Fiona saved Anton well!

My score: 7

Actual score: Craig 5, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Abbey Clancy and Aljaž Skorjanec – Charleston to ‘Cabaret’ (Liza Minnelli)

Charleston brings out the best in Abbey, that’s for sure! Lots of energy, lots of technique and fun to watch. Mini-prop disaster as the hat decided it no longer wanted to partake in this evening’s show but never mind.

My score: 9

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

Mark Benton and Iveta Lukosiute – Rumba to ‘Goldfinger’ (Shirley Bassey)

Excellent dress rehearsal picture earlier.

I will admit to being awkward about this whole Mark/Rumba thing but any fears disspated when Phil Mitchell begun in the chair, which rung the GIMMICK bell in my head. And so…yes. We might be seeing it again.

My score: 5

Actual score: Craig 5, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 5 = 23/40

Susanna Reid and Kevin Clifton – Waltz to ‘You Light Up My Life’ (Whitney Houston)

I take responsibility for making Susanna teary earlier in the week (not really, but my tweet was true!). I imagined my mother and father the whole way through this dance as a consequence.

Beautiful waltz from the pair of them – the romantic and sensual dances really suit Susanna – and it was so lovely to see a clean waltz without any damn tricks. I have a tear in my eye…those lines, the pivots, everything.

My score: 9

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

I think it deserved 10s.

Dave Myers and Karen Hauer – Tango to ‘I’m Gonna Be’ (The Proclaimers’)

I am really confused about how and why this is a tango song but since it’s Dave I’ll give it a wide berth. Actually, maybe I’ll give it all one. Get him out.

My score: 3

Actual score: Craig 4, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 4 = 20/40

Ashley Taylor Dawson and Ola Jordan – Quickstep to ‘Are You Gonna be My Girl’ (Jet)

Nice to see a good performance from Ashley in Ballroom two weeks in a row and that he isn’t cowering back in to his shell. Excellent footwork out-of-hold section (I know, so technical) and then very good when he was in hold with Ola. Clean choreography as well.

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Brendan Cole – Argentine Tango ‘Sweet Dreams’ (Tanghetto)

I don’t like the Argentine Tango but I think the sultry tone of the dance actually suited Sophie’s feisty personality. Loved the choreography and all the technical steps and lifts. Especially the end off the chair.

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 32/40

Patrick Robinson and Anya Garnis – American Smooth to ‘It Had to Be You’ (Harry Connick Junior)

He was 50 this week? Did you know?

Impressive choreography from everybody tonight – Anya no exception! That backflip lift had me with my heart in my mouth! Lovely steps from Patrick, nice timing and a good end to a very good evening (after the first few anyway)

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 10, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 37/40

Posted on November 9, 2013, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Tasha.

