Strictly Come Dancing 2013: week four

In which we conclude the costume department temporarily lost the plot. And maybe the judging panel.

Click more, my friend.

Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Brendan Cole – Foxtrot to ‘Cheek to Cheek’ (Dick Haymes)

A nice elegant start to the long evening with a sweet and fluffy Foxtrot to a classic song. Very technical, very stylish and a pleasure to watch. Sophie just gets better and better. Loving watching her and brilliant to see Brendan with a massive grin on his face after years of suffering.

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Fiona Fullerton and Anton Du Beke – Rumba to ‘A World Of Our Own’ (Westlife)

Yikes. Let’s get this over with. This song isn’t working either.

It didn’t go very well if we’re honest. Full of mistakes and just a bit of a failure.  Anton also suffered trouser-gate again. According to James Jordan, it is a mic pack – so fear not.

My score: 5

Actual score: Craig 4, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 22/40

Mark Benton and Iveta Lukosiute – Cha Cha Cha to ‘U Can’t Touch This’ (MC Hammer)

Ow. I am just speechless. I don’t even think it was a Cha Cha Cha. It was just a mess of steps. It didn’t even make me laugh this time, unlike Mark’s Bom Bom routine…

My score: 4

Actual score: Craig 3, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 7 = 26/40

…I need to ponder that score…

Ashley Taylor Dawson and Ola Jordan – Viennese Waltz to ‘Angel’ (Sarah McLachlan)

We seem to have now landed back on Earth from Planet Bizarre with a lovely VW from Ashley and Ola in which we fell in love with the two of them all over again. Ashley took advice from past weeks and kept his neck and top line off – which was beautiful – and the turns were graceful. Maybe it was careful, but it was nice.

My score: 7

Actual score: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

Julien Macdonald and Janette Manrara – Samba to ‘Spice Up Your Life’ (Spice Girls)

Janette has come as Elmer the Elephant this evening.

Julien came out with so much energy but it seemed to have faded by the end after a cross-arm section had totally messed up. It wasn’t his worse though – not that that says much – but it wasn’t truly dreadful.

My score: 4

Actual score: Craig 4, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 6 = 23/40

Rachel Riley and Pasha Kovalev will do the Quickstep to ‘Johnny Got A Boom’ (Imelda May)

Interesting headwear for Rachel Riley this week. It sort of looks like a pac-a-mac.

Anyway, to the dance and I’m more interested in the clothing. It felt slow and laboured, despite it being a Quickstep, and it felt like Rachel has taken a few steps backwards actually.

And then Len said something rude and Bruno fell off his chair (after knocking it over) twice. So I wound back and didn’t catch it. Wound back forward and Bruno said shit. Oops.

My score: 6

Actual score: Craig 5, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Ben Cohen and Kristina Rihanoff – Salsa to ‘Hard To Handle’ (Black Crowes)

Well any last shreds of nerves left have definitely left Ben as he threw Kristina around in that Salsa with the greatest of confidence! Lots of steps and clever choreography from Kristina once again. Not sure what the car added to it though.

My score: 7

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 7 = 31/40

Deborah Meaden and Robin Windsor – Jive to ‘Making You Mind Up’ (Bucks Fizz)

Robin’s wig. Deborah’s slippers. The sparkly attire. I don’t even know where I’m going with this.

The technique wasn’t really up to anything and I’m disappointed with her. Not her dance, onwards and upwards hopefully.

My score: 4

Actual score: Craig 5, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 23/40

Natalie Gumede and Artem Chigvintsev – Quickstep to ‘Yeah!’ (Usher)

Starting with a jump seemed almost cruel from Artem given the whole back saga of the past week! The pain must have been excruciating…

I guess this is personal taste but I didn’t like it much because it was hardly in hold (which I love) and a lot of faffing about with canes (which I don’t love). But the technique and content that was there was phenomenal as per usual for Natalie. I just hope she isn’t in too much pain tomorrow.

My score: 7

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 8, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Patrick Robinson and Anya Garnis – Cha Cha Cha to ‘Mercy’ (Duffy)

Mercifully (see what I did there?), we finally get a decent Cha Cha Cha this evening from Patrick and Anya. Patrick is quick and light on his feet in a choreography-laden routine. I think it may be his best Latin thus far.

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 9, Bruno 8 = 33/40

No Bruno, you don’t encourage Patrick to smack Anya on the arse to ‘keep her in her place’. I’m not an ardent feminist but that riled me right up.

Abbey Clancy and Aljaž Skorjanec – Tango to ‘Spectrum’ (Florence and the Machine)

Aside from a make-up catastrophe and an even worse effort from the band, Abbey delivered a sultry tango with poise and control. A different side of Abbey and it suited her well. Dance of the evening so far!

My score: 9

Actual score: Craig 9, Darcey 8, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Dave Myers and Karen Hauer – Waltz to ‘Take It To The Limit’ (The Eagles)

Not a torrid routine from Dave – although he is becoming slightly insufferable – because he did actually get into hold and whirl around the floor. Karen is trying her best to turn him into a dancing beauty. I just don’t see it happening.

My score: 5

Actual score: Craig 5, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 23/40

Susanna Reid and Kevin Clifton – Samba to ‘Whenever, Wherever’ (Shakira)

Wow! Talk about saving the best until last!

Sexy, furious, fast, fun, sizzling…I could go on! Yes it was a little messy toward the end but only because I think maybe the song was a little too fast! But Susanna is brilliant – a really talent. I love her.

My score: 8

Actual score: Craig 6, Darcey 7, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 29/40

 

 

LATERS FRIENDS.

 

Who did you enjoy? Who did you dislike? Tell me!

 

Posted on October 19, 2013, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. We LOVE Susanna & Kevin (from Grimsby). We could do without Julien and now i understand why there is no red button commentary this year, Rachel had stolen the red button and was wearing it on her head!

    Like

  2. I am still loving everyone this year and don’t want anyone else to leave. We seem to have gone back to the good old days when celebs started off with two left feet and then improved week by week. Yes .. I know that is the general idea but for some years now it has seemed that the finalists were way in front from day one, This year I suppose Natalie is the assumed finalist but I think the other slot is wide open…. which is BRILLIANT!

    Like

Tell Tasha.

