An interview with Kristina Rihanoff

Hi Kristina. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to interview you. I’ve been such a big fan of you for so many years now!

We missed you on the Strictly Come Dancing tour last year! Have you any plans to return for the 2014 Live Tour?

Yes, depends on if I will be invited and if I will have a partner to dance with on the tour. So we will see, it is too early to say. I should know by the end of October.

Can you describe the feeling when you stand on the dance-floor waiting to hear who you partner will be?

Well I think I always look a little terrified for whatever reasons. You just want to have a good time and want to have a long life on the show. You hope that you want to get along with you partner. I have been lucky on the show with very good celebrities. It’s been five years but I can’t help it I feel nervous and excited at the same time.

The image of you being dragged across the floor by John Sergeant is arguably one of the most iconic moments of the successful show of all time. Do people still regularly bring that up when they meet you? Or on Twitter?

Yes, it always pops up in my Q&As with people especially when I do shows with Robin, cruises or personal appearance, everyone wants to talk about Strictly. I definitely did not think that is what I will be remembered for in Strictly come dancing. I just have to embrace it and live with it.

What’s it like teaching somebody to dance? I can imagine you need to have a lot of time and patience.

It is definitely about patience and finding the right way of explaining things. Everyone learns things differently so as a teacher you need to be very alert and figure out how they learn and what is the quickest way to process information. It does take lots of hours and patience with the beginners.

What would you say your favourite genre of dance?

I would say Latin dancing is my favourite. I was trained in Ballroom dancing, Latin and Ballet. I think Latin dancing is my favourite because of the different rhythms and exciting choreography.

If you were an animal, what would you be and why?

I would be a cat or any kind of animal from the cat family. They are amazing animals and very flexible like me.

How did you get into dance? How old were you?

I have always danced and my dad was a musician so there was always music in the house since I was little. I was always performing in front of my parents and my mum saw how much I loved moving to the music so they took me to school when I was about 6, that’s when I started. I trained in Ballroom and Latin.

If you hadn’t been a dancer, what career path do you think you would have taken? A teacher? Accountant? Astronaut?

I do love teaching and it comes with dancing. It is something I really enjoy doing but I think If I was not dancing then I would have been in theatre or in acting. I did a theatre course for four years when I was a teenager so it is something that I also enjoyed doing.

Thank you very much for your time Kristina! Best of luck with the upcoming series of Strictly!

Thank you

532c5303b68a74d9b436a04fc55619a7

Posted on October 4, 2013, in Celebrity interviews, Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Tell Tasha.

