An interview with Arlene Phillips CBE

Hi Arlene! I’m so pleased for this opportunity to interview you! First things first, how are you? 

I’m very well thank you! Busy as ever, but loving it.

What has been keeping you busy lately? Any dance or musical theatre projects coming up? Or more books?

I’ve been working on three productions currently, the US tour of the Wizard of Oz, the US tour of We Will Rock You, and the International Tour of Starlight Express! I’m also developing a Brazilian dance show, but at the moment that’s all I can tell you about it…

That last part sounds very interesting indeed! Speaking of books, have you ever thought about an official autobiography? You’ve done so much in your long and distinguished career, I am sure so many would love to read it! I know I would!

Thank you for saying that, it’s something I’ve thought about many times – I just have to make sure it’s the right time as I’m sure there would be more than a few scandalous stories in there…

I bet! You mentioned you would love to work in comedy one day soon, how’s that going? Will we be seeing you on Live At The Apollo any time soon? Who would you say are your comedy inspirations?

I don’t think I would ever be brave enough! Those comedians are so quick witted it just blows my mind. I’ve had the pleasure of working with some top comedians such as Jimmy Carr, Jack Whitehall, John Bishop, Lee Mack – and I love soaking up their brilliance, who knows maybe one day I’ll get a couple of lines in a comedy and put my skills to the test!

I’ll have to keep an eye out then!

What first attracted you to a career in dance and choreography?

I always knew I wanted to dance, choreography was something I sort of fell into after being given my first job by Ridley Scott, who I was working for at the time as a babysitter for his kids. He knew I was a dancer, and assumed that all dancers could choreograph and said “I have a commercial for Lyons Maid Ice Cream I’d like you to do” that featured a dancing milkmaid and a cow. Well it didn’t go too badly, and as they say, the rest is history!

If you hadn’t followed a career in dance, what would you have done instead? A lawyer? Doctor? Banker?

I’m not sure I could have ever done something that wasn’t expressive or creative, maybe a nursery school teacher?

What is your husband Angus like on the dance-floor? Can he keep up with your outstanding talent at a dinner party or does he prefer to sit at the table?

Hopeless! He will sit firmly at the table, silently praying no one asks him to dance

Since this is a television blog after all, what is your current favourite television show?

I honestly can’t remember when I last sat down to properly watch something, but I am beyond excited about the new series of Sherlock starting soon, that I will most definitely be making time for. I do however drop in and out of anything Agatha Christie…

What is it like watching yourself on television? Is it weird? Funny? Bizarre?

I’m terrible at watching myself because all I do is pick out my imperfections instead of focusing what I’m actually saying!

And lastly, a silly one. If you could invite three famous people (dead or alive) around for dinner, who would you invite and why?

Fred Astaire because I would want to talk to him about dance dance and dance, Ava Gardner to talk about her many famous affairs, and John Kennedy to talk about the family dynasty and what it was like to be part of that.

Thank you so much for your time Arlene! All the best.

You are very welcome x

© Twitter; Arlene Phillips, Official Rug

Posted on August 28, 2013, in Celebrity interviews, Dance related and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Tasha.

