Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – A Grand finale, part 1!

IT’S HERE! IT’S HERE! *jumps about excitedly*. Tonight is the grand final 2012 – and boy hasn’t it come around fast?

The four finalists will perform twice for us in this first show – their judges choice dance and quick step dancers  animationthe epic showdances! They will dazzle and delight us and we shall sit and vote to crown our winner. Well, actually we’ll sit and vote right now to get our favourite couple to the second show. I personally would love to see Dani win…but I worry that Louis has got this. I’m also slightly unhappy at the fact that both Denise and Louis have two Latin (Charleston is more Latino than anything anyway) and seemingly Latin themed showdances. Kimberley has two ballrooms but the song for her showdance screams Latin shake-ass-fest. Dani, congratulations on the proper showcase.

Enough from me anyway, let the battle commence.


European opener and some babble:

It’s the final countdown do do do do do do do do do…

SPECTACULAR professional opener with some mixed up couples due to the four professionals competing in the final!

Elsewhere, Brucie has the giggles and is as bad as ever for his opening as he thinks about Anton. Tess looks horrible for the 300th time this series and apparently this is the last ever TVC show! The rules of tonight are then explained and everybody goes to make a cup of tea as we recap the ENTIRE SERIES. Which makes me feel weird because it feels like it launched yesterday.

And let me just say how I don’t think we should have four finalists. Rule change to suit Denise…backed up by last week’s scrapping of the double elimination…

Right, anyway, negativity in the corner now…LET’S GO.


Denise van Outen and James Jordan – Tutti Frutti – Judges choice, Jive

I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as the first time around…probably because it was really good and I enjoy picking holes in things. That was fun, furious and fantastic – improved that finesse needed for the perfectly sharp kicks. I felt that they pandered to the audience a bit more this time though, I don’t like that, but other than that it is very hard to find even mini flaws in.

My score: 10

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 39/40

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – Rumour Has It – Judges choice, Tango

Look at that angry face! Work it Dani! Notable improvement in her hold posture and her acting throughout the Tango. Bit stompy last time, had a touch of grace with this. It felt like she was tiring by the end though – lucky it ended when it did. Overall, it didn’t blow me away though – wrong choice perhaps?

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – A Thousand Years – Judges choice, Viennese Waltz

So. very. beautiful.

Technically outstanding and amazingly perfect. Lovely long arm extensions, beautiful both in and out hold and elegantly cruising around the dancefloor as one.

My score: 10

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 39/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – (I’ve Had) The Time Of My Life – Judges choice, Salsa

I detested this the first time about – complete copy and rip-off of the movie scene! His hip movements are still limbered however he’s better in time this week. I did notice a few changes that served the dance well but not the overhaul of the routine I wanted. He has the personality of a boiled egg as well – how can he win? Help.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Louis 9, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 39/90

And rewind!! No showdance will ever come close to Tom and Camilla though! Real dancing and a great story.

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – What a Feeling – Showdance

See, this is where I differ from everybody else. I really hate the showdance motto: LIFTS, LIFTS AND MORE LIFTS. I didn’t see any dancing in that, just James chucking Denise around for the whole time. The end bit was the closest we got – that was good, but, oy vey. He must have neckache as well.

My score: I’m not even going to bother for showdances.

Judges scores: Craig 10, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 40/40

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – Bohemian Rhapsody – Showdance

Well, that was…it was.

Full of content, all a little haphazardly performed; it wasn’t very clean. For me, it didn’t seem to flow – the lifts felt like they were thrown in at random places and one or two gave me glimpses of things I didn’t want to see…. However, it wasn’t terrible and at least it had content. I’m worried she’s going out first…gutted that didn’t go very well.

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – Crazy in Love – Showdance

Oh I do love a costume changing yellow orb prop! Proper cool. That was totally manic, that girl really can shake it! Perfect balance between perfect dancing and epic tricks. Kimberley really pulled it off.

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 39/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – Rule The World – Showdance

It’s gymnastics time I’m fearing. He also isn’t as fit as one would think, look at that chest…well, I’d rather not. Still, I must comment on the wonderfully done Argentine Tango section. But, that was about it. The way the judges are cooing over his ‘perfectness’ – sickens me.

Judges scores: Craig 10, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 40/40

Did I watch different showdances?


So that is it for part one! I fear that Dani is headed for fourth place after that. But I don’t know – we’ll see in an hour!

Posted on December 22, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Tasha.

