Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – Shimmering Semis

Let us re-raise the tone you may or may not have just lowered to – for it is Strictly semi-final week. Tonight, the five couples will each dance twice as they fight it out for a place in next week’s final.

Except, there are four couples in the final so, for me, the inventive is a little limited. The confirmed press pack for tonight spoke of a double elimination and the omission of the dance-off this weekend but the ‘rules’ posted the other day (hmmm BBC) reversed this into one being axed after the dance-off. It’s all gone a bit weird this year. It’s like they’re making it up as they go along…


Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – I Just Haven’t Met You Yet – American Smooth…Foxtrot

The toilet roll bottom of that dress ruins the gorgeous top. Also, why must the American Smoothies this year be Foxtrot themed? It’s really annoying me, is this in the new rule book or is it actually some dance fact? I get the feeling that I should be talking about something else but there is a massive fountain on the floor.

It was pretty. I found it a bit bland and boring personally but every element of a Strictly champion is transliterated within Dani’s performance. The lifts, the footwork and her technique is all pretty perfect – Vincent really knows how to choreograph and showcase her amazing talent. She doesn’t have that ‘looks like a professional’ polish though. Roll on her Argentine Tango!

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 34/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – Why Don’t Fools Fall In Love – Jive

Costumes and general screenplay aside, it was a pretty good dance! It just didn’t seem to be a jive. It was messy, flat, bland, boring and Louis looked like he was counting the seconds until it ended. He gives his all into the performance but it just…didn’t work. He even opted to try destroy the set (I can’t blame him, at all).

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – Roxanne – Tango

That Tango had some fantastic acting going on – did you see Denise’s face?! Wow! Anger presumably coming naturally to her after the slating she has had (not really for any decent reason!) and the fact that the public seem to be opposed to her. Whether you like her or not, this is a dance show and that was first class. Like a professional couple these two – fantastic footwork, brilliant turns and they dominates that floor.

My score: 10

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 39/40

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – Fever – American Smooth

The lifts in that routine were excellent! Kimberley owned that floor and owned Pasha – her skill level is completely through the roof. The turns, the tricks and the twists were fantastic. It just wasn’t in hold whatsoever, did they actually come together? I would have liked to seen them twirling around the floor. Good routine but it felt really staged.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 10, Len 9, Bruno 10 = 38/40

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – Best Years Of Our Lives – Salsa

It officially seems as though it has been rehearsal visiting week. I really don’t buy that they have ABSOLUTELY NO TIME to see them at any other point. Do they lock themselves in the training rooms room from the minute they get through to the minute they go to dress? No.

If the answer to above was ‘yes’, Lisa may have done better locked in the room. It was ‘fun’ as they seem to like to say – it was full of energy and it was a laugh to watch but her time really is up. If she wasn’t falling on the floor, she was shuffling on her backside or trying to stay balanced. Technique was severely lacking for this late stage in the competition and, just, oh just leave me alone in a dark room somewhere.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40


Midway point and the inconsistency tonight is killing me. This series has been such a scoring sham. Honestly, at least Louis danced his best tonight! Lisa sat on her orange bottom and racked up the same score.


Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – Libertango – Argentine Tango

I loved the start of that dance; it was ever so sexy. Her kicks were ever so sharp and clean and it was just simply brilliant. I’m not even going to try and waffle on about technique – it was all just so excellent.

My score: 10

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 38/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – Somebody That I Used To Know – Foxtrot

So is this a Foxtrot American-Smooth? Also, the band treated us to THE WORST version of that song ever sung – and I watched The Voice. The first few bars really do sound like Baa Baa Black sheep (I’ve always said it)…and apparently Bruce agrees with me.

He bores me to tears but at least he produced a good ballroom dance. Controlled, calm and collected as he and Flavia hit some lovely lines around the floor. Little bit rocky for the first 10 seconds or so but it smoothed out and he performed a lovely dance.

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 10, Len 9, Bruno 10 = 38/40

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face – Rumba

Apart from one tiny mini second where she scuttled to the back of him and looked like ring-a-ring-a-roses, that was a beautiful dance. I normally hate the Rumba, as we know, but that was a joy to watch. Denise creates the most elegant lines (best celebrity for that, by far) and it actually left me with a tear in my eyes. What is happening to me?

My score: 10

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 38/40

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – Prologue/Main Title – Charleston

Kimberley is seriously fantastic – look at those LEGS! These two give me my favourite Charleston of the series with a brilliant choreographed routine full of sweet little surprises. Her footwork was sharp, clean, crisp and on the money. Perfectly executed lifts as well and some impressive cartwheeling. I love her.

My score: 10

Judges scores: Craig 10, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 40/40

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – All That Jazz – American Smooth

The prop department is officially broke and has stolen the leftover X-Factor letters to form that set.

It wasn’t as disastrous as her Latin but it was a bit stompy in places and mistimed in others. There was an injection of technique there and she did manage a semi-decent routine but she is the weakest of the five. Would be a good parting dance though.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 32/40

And we end the show on a lower tone than my title may or may not have implied anyway!


The excellent second half made up for the bizarre mess that was the judging in the first. I haven’t supported anybody for the trophy so far this year but I now choose Kimberley. She has produced such fantastic routines.

I fear, however, trouble is ahead. Lisa could get the public vote which would leave Denise and Dani/Louis in the bottom 2. Clearly, Denise shouldn’t and wouldn’t be ousted and then we have a serious injustice. I hope I’m wrong.

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Actually prefered Kimberley’s AS to her Charleston, because it was so sexy, which does not happen often in the AS. Probably the most well know AS is Kara and Artems’s which had less in hold then that and I loved that dance.
    Of the rest Denise tango was amazing,sadly did not feel the romance in the rumba, sort of agreed with Craig about the dress hiding the hip action. Dani’s AS was boring AT was not. Louis jive was really awful but he did improve for the foxtrot. As for Lisa she tried her best but is not at the level of the others, she can only compete with the others in performance but at this stage its not enough.

    Like

Tell Tasha.

