Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – Fusion Fun, Week 10.

I’m not even sure how I’m meant to blog this week – I’m not even anywhere near an expert in single genres let alone fusing two!

The aim of the game tonight is to be a chorographical disaster showcase of all things dancing but mixing up two dance genres and trying not to fail. To me, it seems like a way of getting certain celebrities out of certain dancers – I’m talking Louis and the Rumba namely. Then again, conspirators have had fun this week – myself included – with the random announcement that there will be FOUR couples in the final, thus meaning Denise, Kimberley and Louis will almost certainly be there with Lisa/Dani/Nicky fighting for the remaining. And then there was something about a double elimination one week and none the other but I’m not too sure on that one.

Anyway, Brutus, enough. On we go.https://i0.wp.com/sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/264996_388935107859373_1171433489_n.jpg

Talking of confusion…


Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – Reet Petite – Quickstep-Jive

You know, it worked. Hard to keep up watching that though – I’m dizzy – because it was just so epically fast! Woah! James did a brilliant job fusing the two together and that was complimented by a brilliant song choice. Denise had the jive kicks and flicks perfected to sharp and furious precision whilst her Quickstep was eloquent and [mostly] neat.

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – Voulez Vous – Tango-ChaChaCha

Tango, for me, was very stompy and petulant childlike but she managed to act it well. It was over relatively quick though as she had her skirt whipped off and Cha Cha ensued. Cha Cha Cha was more her and slightly better than the Tango but I’m bored of her Latin – happy clappy, wiggle one’s behind and go wrong somewhere near the end. It was all very disco.

Also, I was distracted by some low-hanging glitterballs… (I know, ooh matron…)

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 7, Bruno 8 = 30/40

And overmarked as per.

Nicky Byrne and Karen Hauer  – Troublemaker – American Smooth-Foxtrot-Samba

Well, he gets to avoid the full Samba of doom…and gives us half instead. Here is a Latino-sized oh dear. Especially the floor shimmy and the movement around the floor was very limp and laboured. Liked the American Smooth a bit more though, I like him in ballroom hold – although the hold needed work –  but his feet were good! Maybe the theme of the fusion threw him…

My scores: 6

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 7, Len 8, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone– Happy Feet – Charleston-Quickstep​

The Quickstep kick sections slotted in well with the overall tantrum that is the Charleston and all was fun, fast and furious! Very enjoyable and, what is more, her footwork was absolutely awesome, perfect and brilliant. The storytelling, as well, was present and the overall presentation was joyous and bubbly.

Happy feet little penguins dancing

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 10, Len 9, Bruno 10 = 38/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – With or Without You – Rumba-Tango

I was quite surprised that these two dances fused with ease. Not too sure it was evenly devised but that was very well performed. I didn’t get any good vibes from the Rumba part…but then again, I hate the rumba. It was alright – it has emotion actually – but I found it boring…sorry guys…

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 10 = 37/40

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – It’s Raining Men –  ChaChaCha-Tango

That VT was really really stupid wasn’t it?

I thoroughly enjoyed that! Pasha came up with some excellent choreography (best of the night I would say) and Kimberley really lived up to a really high standard. It was just excellently inventive and intuitive. As for her footwork, that was neat and perfect – she has such elegance and precision. Kimba OWNED that floor. Her personality shone as well – she loved that dance. And so did I! Sorry Dani, that is my new favourite dance of the series.

My score: 10

Judges scores: Craig 10, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 40/40…the first!

It’s raining ten. Hehe!


I officially have to eat my words…the fusion worked. I wouldn’t necessarily like the see it again next year, but we got some brilliant dancing out of it.

Watch out Lisa.

Posted on December 8, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Surreal especially as Karen was away so i had to listen to commentary from Du Beke and Del whats her face which was scary!

    Like

  2. Aha, I wish I could have listen to that as well actually!

    Like

  3. You’re right. I thought the fusion idea would be a dahnce dis-ah-ster, but it kinda worked.

    And I’m getting a bit fed up of Lisa’s smiley bubbly shtick and her being constantly overmarked – although I do like the fact that she doesn’t conform to the usual body fascist concept of what a good dancer should look like…

    Like

    • I like the latter point you make very much indeed, especially as a sociologist (in training, degree!) but she cannot compete with the high standard now – I’m worried she’ll cause a shock because she is so loved.

      Like

  4. Kathy Williams

    Umm… Has Flavia married Pasha? 😉

    Like

  1. Pingback: Strictly Come Dancing 2012 Results – Evacuate the dancefloor, Week 10 « tashaontv

Tell Tasha.

