Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – The best night so far!

It’s December. The competition is getting smaller and fiercer.

And mercifully the shows are later, so I can now have dinner at a normal time.

One year on from Movie Week … *sighs nostalgically*. My ticket success rate has been it’s normal unsuccessful self thus far (Christmas included…really wanted that) but, never mind, I get to spend the show with you guys instead. Gosh, I know, I’m such a nice person. The beautiful Katya is in the audience tonight – so look out for her!

https://i1.wp.com/www.heathersanimations.com/animals/konlang.gif

Here are some dancing rodents that have nothing to do with anything.

Bit like that horsie VT. That was rubbish.


Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – Land of 1000 Dances – Jive

I put those rodents into my blog before the show and there appears to be some animal theme going on here….I shall now predict the lottery numbers.

Found it hard to follow that, what a fast dance; that was certainly full of energy. Sort of messy in the middle there but, apart from that, the jive content was all there with perfect footwork. They were in time and enjoyable to watch. Just needed that extra bit of finesse.

My score:8

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 8, Len 8, Darcey 9 = 34/40

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – That’s Amore – Viennese Waltz

Ill-thought out song choice, perhaps, considering Vincent and Louisa exited the competition on this song and dance. But who really believes in jinxes these days? (I do)

I’VE FOUND WALLY. He’s dancing, but without his hat and glasses.

Well, that was really cute. That really is all I can say – it was elegant and sweet. Graceful couple, lovely turns and those leg extensions are perfect. It was like that dance at prom with your college sweetheart (wouldn’t know).

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 34/40

Michael Vaughan and Natalie Lowe – Tequila – Samba

As long as nobody is taking a shot of tequila when Michael makes a mistake. Could be passed out. Maybe I’m being prematurely pessimistic, but it’s Michael and it’s Latin…we’ll see. It can never be as bad as that cardigan of his though.

Well it was a nice effort, not as bad as expected (what was I expecting though?). Felt very wooden…Natalie danced around him for the most part and he still can’t move those hips efficiently. At the same time, though, you can see how hard he has been working and how much he is pushing himself. Best of all Latin’s of his though.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 7, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 24/40

Nicky Byrne and Karen Hauer – Skyfall – Argentine Tango

Awarding the trophy for worst song choice of the night to Miss Hauer. What I would give to see Skyfall again though, it is EPIC! But REALLY? DANCE? REALLY?

…well I have to eat my words. It actually works as a song choice! It has quite a sensual tone actually and Karen’s choreography was to die for tonight! It wasn’t perfect, it wasn’t quite as polished as other AT’s but it wasn’t too bad. Their connection was there and the lifts were sensational…maybe the feet needed work but, whatever.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 7, 8 = 30/40

Double-oh-severn. So original. Followed by a moneypenny gag. HELP

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – Bring Me Sunshine – Quickstep

Okay, Bobby, get educated.

Energetic as always from Lisa – very bright (not just the costumes) and bubbly on the whole. Seemed a bit messy though, the timing was a bit off the whole way through. The ending was just a disaster so we won’t go there but the middle section with the kicks and covering the floor was great.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – Rhythm Of The Night – Salsa

James fell out with the fake tanning people yesterday. So instead of channelling Moulin Rouge with this song, channel Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

Wafting at the beginning a la Fern Britton – but at least Denise can actually really dance! The Salsa is always a bit messy for all who undertake it; even Denise nearly fell out of a few turns. Incredibly fast tempo, I admire her managing to keep in time and produce some excellent kicks. Very strong dancer – I just don’t like the salsa. Nor did I like that ending…dodgy.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 32/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – Dr Wanna Do – Charleston

Well, Louis managed to smile and act happy for once! Actually told the story incredibly well – the dance was decent as well. Not my favourite Charleston ever but it was a good end to a good night of dancing. Very fast and fluid. lot’s of technique crammed in there…and I knew those gymnastics were coming.

AND HE HAS A PERSONALITY. HE ISN’T A ROBOT AFTER ALL.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 10, Len 9, Bruno 10 = 37/40


Wow! What a night! Everybody lived up and performed – such a high standard this year. I fear for Michael this week.

Posted on December 1, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Tell Tasha.

