Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – Dancing all sorts, Week 8

All sorts of good and bad.

Tonight we are back at TVC and much without a theme – so let’s hope for brilliant quality dancing. And more 10s! (But only if deserved!)

That Friends montage-y thing was just all levels of wrong and cringe. Not even a Friends fan but I think that tune is just too, erm, iconic to be anywhere else…

Ah yes, the birthday klaxon. Why is it always such news to Strictly that people can age within these 12 weeks? Still, it’s sweet!

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – Single Ladies – Samba

That was one of the worst VTs I have ever ever seen.

Samba, gladly because it has to suit somebody this year, suits Dani. Fast, fun and full of energy from the duo. Great hip action from Dani, well timed footwork and a well choreographed routine from Vincent – played to her strengths. Shame about the song though…

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 39/40

Oh Lordie. Brucie stripping. Calm yourself, no clothes were removed. Or else BBC1 would be. From my house, permanently.

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – When Doves Cry – Tango

Enough with the desk already this year!

Kimberley is probably one of the strongest when it comes to characterising a dance – her she is giving us aggression; which is what we want! I think that may have been her best dance to date. She really teamed up with Pasha to control that floor! Lovely footwork, a joy to watch. (Although apparently it was a bit flat and lacked heel leads, I won’t argue…I don’t know)

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 9, Len 8, Bruno 9 = 34/40

Victoria Pendleton and Brendan Cole – Candy – Salsa

Three out of three songs that I have hated. And the prop budget is so low that they’ve been raiding Santa’s grotto in Westfield.

That wasn’t actually *as* bad as I was expecting! Incredibly fast music to keep up with and quite a routine from Brendan there. However, her timing was out most of the way through. She really seemed to move it though, to which song beat I am not sure, but it could have been better – much better. Hip action wasn’t too bad though.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 4, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 5 = 21/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – Dirty Diana – Paso Doble

JACKSON KLAXON. Louis always looks moody so this should suit him.

Or not. That was terrible. No story telling there really – not my bull fighting macho man! He morphed into Sid since he nicked his promo picture outfit – and Sid was bad. Yes he has the moves nailed but without any pizzazz and personality coming through in the dance, it is just a series of moves strung together. It wasn’t fluid.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – As If We Never Say Goodbye – Rumba

I don’t really like the Rumba so I find it hard to like many I watch. It was missing that Lisa spark but I was a little thankful for that. Sometimes she is so annoyingly over-the-top, I thought she kept herself toned down and let herself be led. It wasn’t a particularly great Rumba but I really loved that it wasn’t choreographed with her throwing herself around and over Robin – it was understated and original. Beautiful dress as well.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

I also honestly thought Darcey was about to say ‘this is going to be difficult for you because you’re so big’. Brilliant she said.

Michael Vaughan and Natalie Lowe – Bust Your Windows – Argentine Tango

The honeymoon is over. Not a fringe fan either! (hated mine as well)

It was a little stiff, he dragged her about and lifted her a lot, so it didn’t really showcase many of the steps that the AT should be doing. It was a well put together routine from Natalie though, the lifts were clean and elegant. Maybe the AT just isn’t his dance. It just…didn’t work. I don’t even know what I thought of that but it wasn’t the worst offering tonight thus far.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 6 = 26/40

Nicky Byrne and Karen Hauer – Doop – Charleston

What is the world is she dressed like? Dear dear costume. But Karen gets the award for the best music choice of the evening.

Interesting routine by all accounts (including that start) but, got to give it to them, it had a lot of face paced movement in there! The lifts were perfectly executed and his energy levels were through the roof. It was a traditional Charleston – suited him. Quick, quirky and quite fantastic!

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – Imagine – American Smooth

That was elegant and graceful to watch – Denise has a lot of skill, she is a wonderful dancer. Lovely lines, lovely footwork, lovely lifts. What else can I say? Nothing to write when they’re top class. Not my favourite AS ever though (personal taste!)

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 10 = 37/40


Hm, so I think Vicky could be in grave danger tonight. It wasn’t a good show until the last 20 minutes of so – they saved it.

Posted on November 24, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That was seven stages of Blah tonight sadly your blog however, was fabulous as always x

    Like

  2. Kathy Williams

    Denise may not be popular because of her ‘day job’ and ‘previous dancing experience’ but she is certainly in a class of her own. She has improved too, so much so that she can sometimes outclass James!!
    I would dearly like to see Danni or Kimberly make a challenge but there is always just a little something not quite there … I think it is called polish.

    Like

    • Yes, she encountered a lot of scrutiny for the ‘previous experience’ but I think the show has shown how willing to learn and push herself she is. She has come a fair way already!

      Like

  3. Kathy Williams

    PS.. Sorry, I forgot to say thank you for your blog Tasha I find it really useful to do a recap with. The other blogs are always way too long winded. Yours are short and snappy but don’t miss much. xxx

    Like

Tell Tasha.

