Strictly Come Dancing – Wembley In Need, Week 7

We’re the famous Strictly Come Dancing and we’re going to Wembley…wem-ber-ley…

Since I am currently typing before the show I am going to say probably not. Last year, Wembley was pretty much the worst show of the series with a barrage of mishaps, horrible props and terrible routines. This year, well the same audience appears to be there (I honestly know some people who have gone both years..good luck to them!) and the theme appears to be ‘dancing through the ages’ which is even more upsetting than Best of British last year. But still, I live in hope – we’ve got better celebrities this year and a higher standard. This show comes off of the back on two fantastic weekends as well’; I am enthusiastic!

Moreover, it is Children In Need week so, for the sake of Pudsey, it is important to be optimistic. Although, for the first time in years, the Friday night Children in Need wasn’t all that extravagant so…oh let’s just go.


Opening VT’s and routine

VT’s – terrible. Absolutely atrocious. I can’t even. They just happened.

Dance – The band offered a terrible start with their version of Candyman which they squeaked out but soon warmed up and remembered to sing decently for the rest of the number. The dance I couldn’t even really follow – it turned into club night.

We then were made to endure GANGNAM STYLE AGAIN. We did this weeks ago!

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – Car Wash – Samba

If these are a taste of costumes to come…help me. And who are these two twits? Oh they’ve gone orf’.

Fun-filled routine full of complicated choreography (after a very terrible multi-person start) which stumped her a little because it came across quite messy in some sections. However, her timing is good and her feet actually know what they are doing; always nice to see. Mother and I yelped when she did the splits though…youch! But is she past her sell-by date though?

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 32/40

It’s going to be a long night. I think we might see some 10s.

Nicky Byrne and Karen Hauer – Jailhouse Rock – Jive

Nicky looks more like a mechanic than Robin did. Whomever he is channelling, it isn’t Elvis.

It was full of energy and musicality, which makes a change from his normal lifeless dancing. Maybe his kicks weren’t as sharp as they really should have been but he kept up with a very challenging routine (actually not bad from Karen this time?) although it wasn’t that adventurous (she did break the rules on week 1…I wanted more). I liked it though. Best dance to date I think.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 30/40

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – Walk Like An Egyptian – Charleston

I HONESTLY despair with this song choice. It’s a) terrible and b) not from the 1920s! And is it a requirement that you have to look like Daisy or Jordan from Gatsby to Charleston?

Very Arabian wedding feel to that actually. Technically very high profile and Denise coped very well with what James gave her. Splendid work from her but it seemed a bit slower than I like from a Charleston. Was it even a Charleston? She has a lot of skill though – very good standard from her.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 10, Len 10, Bruno 10 = 39/40

Oh dear lord. I have lost the plot.

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – I Got a Woman – American Smooth

Louis has been dressed up as a dustman tonight. I know a song about him. But it isn’t this one.

…that sort of morphed into a Quickstep (after all my years I can finally judge a genre!) and all felt a bit, just, bizarre. Very intricate footwork though – Louis is very very good with detail. Need to work on the timing towards the end of his routine, he always appears to run out of puff.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 8, 7 = 30/40

Richard Arnold and Erin Boag – Club Tropicana – Salsa

Do we need those men there? It’s so…drunk couple on holiday dancing.

I’m pretty gobsmacked. So was Erin as she appeared to faint at the end – complete with some very dodgy camera work. Out of time and out of line from Richard; no kicks, no gyration and just…time to go? I love him though, his sprit made it all the much more bearable.

Who isn’t wearing knickers? I’m confused.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 6 = 21/40

Victoria Pendleton and Brendan Cole – Bicycle Race – Paso Doble

I’m really at a loss to understand this song choice, the costumes and the dance. (Also why Brendan has a Union Jack…)

That wasn’t the best from Victoria. Warbled about a lot since she got off of that bike at the beginning – timing was out and that aggressive face of hers was more constipated then angry (sorry Vic). There were strokes of brilliant though, some of the moves were carried off well and I do love the effort she gives each week.

My score: 5

Judges sores: Craig 5, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 6 = 24/40

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – You Can’t Hurry Love – Quickstep

Oh dear, what do they look like…? I have a lecturer with a collection of jumpers that colour.

This dance really suits Dani actually because she is so petite and just a generally bouncy person. In some places she looked overwhelmed with the size of the floor and sheer speed of dance but all-in-all she handled it rather well. Dani is just lovely. I want her to win.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – Livin La Vida Loca – Salsa

THE. TRAIN. ON. THAT DRESS. Good lord, half the BBC budget for the show gone on fabric…that’s why the guys never have shirts.

Best Latin routine of the night so far! Brilliant moves, superb timing and fantastic movement! Kimberley is a very good dancer – cheered up my mood.

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 34/40

Michael Vaughan and Natalie Lowe – New York, New York – American Smooth

That floor projection is a little off-putting.

Michael really is something else in ballroom! Him and Nat make a very elegant pair and her choreography always seems to bring out the best in him whilst being beautifully basic. Not sure we needed the other dancers though. That was a really brilliant American Smooth. Dance of the evening – best until last! Loved the last life as well, so graceful.

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 8 = 35/40


Until Kimba and Pasha, it was extremely hard to coherently commentate on tonight as I basically spent the evening turning to my parents and going ‘WHAT WAS THAT?!’. Camerawork was shoddy and the acoustics were even worse. Routines lacked dancing and the scoring was just in a league of it’s own. Very odd evening. I don’t like Wembley.

Also, I win. I said Kylie wasn’t tonight and everybody else’s information said it was. Hmmm.

Posted on November 17, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Kathy Williams

    Think you and I were chanelling each other on the scores Tasha 😉

    Like

  2. Judith Prescott

    Thanks for the blog Tasha

    Like

  3. Brilliant analysis, as usual. Glad it wasn’t just me who was underwhelmed by Denise’s dance.

    Like

Tell Tasha.

