Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – A sparkling show, Week 5

It’s Week 5 of this years competition. Expect some explosive dancing.

And enjoy the fact that it isn’t a themed night because I am pretty sure themes will reappear by Wembley.

It’s bonfire night. I’m marginally surprised that that isn’t the theme for this evening but I am pleased to report we can look forward to a night that may actually centre around dancing instead of nuisance VT’s and propage. Maybe anyway.

It’s not really been an eventful week in Strictly land. Series 10 injuries plod on with Kimberley Walsh reporting in with a bad knee (‘runners knee’) meaning Pasha was frequently practicing their routine on his lonesome throughout the week with Kim relegated to the side watching. Elsewhere, Louis Smith has been ill with a bug of some sort which no doubt hampered his training and it’s still ailing him tonight it seems. Don’t worry Louis, Darcey will play nurse if you ask her nicely I’m sure.


Kimberley Walsh and Pasha ‘Pasta’ Kovalev – Naughty Girl – Salsa

Well Brucie is tired already. *flocks to Twitter to see the generic ‘retire him’ tweets*

Their effort didn’t really seem fast enough for a Salsa – maybe not sure about the song choice though? Her footwork was sharp and she kept in time throughout. Not really sure about the flaunting stint in the middle but that seems to be a regular occurrence with their Nuevo-choreography. Very good but would have liked better.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 9 = 33/40

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – Let’s Stick Together – Tango

Barney the Dinosaur dancing with the Cadbury’s rep. (I must stress that this is a COLOUR REFERENCE AND NOTHING ELSE)

No points for the song choice, could it be the worst Tango song ever? Because of the song, the whole routine lacked aggression and crispness. The routine wasn’t in line with my thinking of a Tango but, then again, I’m not a dancer. I wasn’t keen on the choreography at all but the little Tango element in there Lisa did handle well…passably…

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 7, Len 6, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Richard Arnold and Erin Boag – Big Spender – Foxtrot

A brilliantly choreography routine from Erin as always. Richard looked very elegant as the start when he and Ez went into hold but then it all went to pot a bit. Not very graceful towards the end because Richard was somewhere between trotting and stomping around the floor hauling Erin with him. It was a bit unfortunate.

My score: 4

Judges scores: Craig 3, Darcey 5, Len 5, Bruno 4 = 17/40

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan- At Last – Viennese Waltz

One of my favourite songs for one of my least favourite genres.

Extremely graceful and elegant. They moved around the floor as a pretty little unit hitting some fantastic lines together and completing the dance with some lovely turns. You realise how little there is to write about when they’re actually good.

My score: 9

Judges scores: Craig 9, Darcey 8, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Victoria Pendleton and Brendan Cole – It’s Not Unusual – Samba

The Samba is always the dreaded one. Especially with her being pitched up against Louis.

Indecent start really. Victoria looks like she has either forgotten her dance or she POSITIVELY HATES THE SAMBA (probably the latter) but it did seem very laboured and weak if that makes any sense as a comment. There was a bouncy, flowing rhythm but it just didn’t come across to me. Bit of a nightmare. However, some steps were decent and I really hope she stays in.

And it’s called a desk Len.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 5 = 23/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – La Bomba – Samba turned Salsa

Apparently Louis hasn’t heard of Ricky Martin because he is too young. Er…right.

In stark contrast to above – can’t help thinking they planned that. Fast and rhythmic. Louis’s hip movement is fantastic and he travels well around the floor with Flavia but his footwork fails and stumbles in some places. Flav even showcased his work on his own which was a risky move as him being hid in the corner it really didn’t prove all that much.

Darcey trying to deflect ribbing from Brucie about Louis with her comments. Although I sort of agree.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 7, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 29/40

Colin Salmon and Kristina Rihanoff – Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive – Foxtrot

I’m pretty sure my Nana had a toilet roll cover dolly with Kristina’s dress on.

Five weeks on and I still find this height difference a bit bizarre – sort of ruins my enjoyment of the dance because it is so hard to elegantly move as a couple with the extensive issue. Lovely kicks, very sharp and crisp (is he a robot though?), but it was just an okay routine. Better than the other Foxtrot we have seen tonight. 2 more to go though.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Nicky Byrne and Karen Hauer – I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing – Rumba

I’m really tired of the judges trying to make these two good. Just be hone-…oh wait. He’s in a boyband.

Now the Rumba is awkward at the best of times and with the best of dancers but this was just new levels. Nicky looked as if he was in pain the whole way through whilst Karen lent into him and out from him repeatedly. It was extremely basic and I am not a fan of Karen’s choreography.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 4, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 25/40

Fern Britton and Artem Chigvintsev – Espana Cani – Paso Doble

I do wish Artem would PUT A SHIRT ON. WE GET IT, YOU LIKE YOUR BODY (and so does half the population of Twitter). Also, Kristina and John song. That is all.

Indecent camerawork of the night #2! Lots of wafting/playing with her skirt and not really much dancing. Fern seemed to spend a more than adequate amount of time spinning around on her back on the floor. It wasn’t as aggressive as we like from a Paso but the elements that we did see were okay. Not powerful enough though – lacked oomph.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 24/40

Michael Vaughan and Natalie Lowe – (I Get the) Sweetest Feeling – Foxtrot

Natalie is brilliant at ballroom choreography – she knows just how to bring out the best in Michael. Posture was good and them in hold make a brilliant couple (apart from one bit they seemed so far apart!) and they are a graceful joy to watch.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – Dance With Me Tonight – Jive

Vincent clearly fell out with wardrobe this week. Sheesh! Also, the ‘comedy VTs’ have made a reappearance. Thank heavens it’s the last.

Dani looks very excitable and bouncy; lots of energy to shine through in her Latin this week. Incredibly fast routine from the duo, carried off well but included a very dodgy step-back ending. Not sure about that one Vincent. Some of the kicks and twists could have done with a bit of refining, though.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 9, Bruno 8 = 33/40


So that is another Saturday over! I actually enjoyed the show this evening because WE SAW SOME DANCING. Not theme twaddle. Just pure dancing – and good dancing as well!

I think Richard and Fern could be in the dance-off…we shall see. ;

Posted on November 3, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. That was rather a band pile of meh tonight

    most interesting thing was darceys personality disorder it was obvious the voices were having an argument over the scores tonight!

    Like

  2. Good blogging! just something I noticed – you said Louis&Flavia did a salsa.
    I agree, Natalie’s ballroom choreography is just to die for.

    Like

  3. Kathy Williams

    “I’m pretty sure my Nana had a toilet roll cover dolly with Kristina’s dress on.”

    I loved this random comment & I’m still grinning!
    Some nice dancing but no 9s from me yet. :/
    Good report though Tasha xx

    Like

  4. A new and rather pleasurable part of my Saturday night routine: checking out what Natasha has to say about Strictly! 🙂

    One of the reasons I like your blog so much is that you seem to uncannily articulate exactly what I’m thinking when watching the show. For instance, right at the start I remember thinking “Thank Christ they haven’t gone for a Bonfire Night theme”. And I very rarely talk directly to the TV set (coz that would be, like, a bit mental, wouldn’t it?), but I was yelling at Artem “Put your shirt back on, man!” – admittedly I may be the teeniest bit jealous of his physique, but all his bare torso did was draw attention away from his partner, the ultimate sin in a male dancer.

    And, please, SCD, can we have fewer “amusing” VTs, they are really rather painful.

    I can’t quibble with any of your scores. As Dominic points out, Louis was supposed to be doing a samba, but as half of it looked more like salsa, I can well understand your slip of the keyboard.

    And great to see “our boy” Michael Vaughan doing so well again! The Latin next week will be the acid test of how much improvement he’s made.

    Like

  5. There were only two VT’s which were “comedy” this week Richard and Dani both unfunny. Artem did an Ola in that he knows that Fern is rather average so used his body has a distraction.
    Glad its a no Bruce week next week and its clear he needs the rest. I think that sadly this has to be his last year he can’t read the autocue any more.
    With no Alesha about (Louis and Denise would probably had scored ten) I wonder when the first ten will be given and by who won’t be Craig or Darcey. Perhaps Len in a ballroom dance.
    Glad you liked the show better this week , there is always dancing in the show if there is a theme week or not.

    Like

  6. Think its going to be Tess and Claudia as per result show but permanent replacement I would actually like David Walliams who would be funny and I think would have good banter with the panel. Its going to be a tough decsion when the time comes because despite this year Bruce is still a legend and has done a great job, I just think its too much for him now.

    Like

  7. Hi Verdict just a random wish, mainly I think that he would jump at the chance and it needs a biggish name to replace Bruce ie not Anton.

    Like

  8. He stills works for the Beeb on other stuff on of his books he being filmed for televison and its a leftfield choice over the usual contenders Norton, Barrowman etc. Its the biggest job in light entertainment in my view and its a very important decsion who gets it. But I think loads of people in the industry would show intrest.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Strictly Come Dancing 2012 Results – Out like a light, Week 5 « tashaontv

Tell Tasha.

