Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – The horror of Halloween!, Week 4

I really detest Halloween. I love Strictly. Help?

We know by now that I am not a great fan of themes and my personal views on Halloween are somewhere between ‘stupid children begging for sweets’ and ‘I want to hibernate https://i0.wp.com/www.heathersanimations.com/witches/5.giffor the day’. Clearly, then, I was not looking forward to tonight whatsoever. It Takes Two showed promise though, some dances looked really good – so we’re giving it a go. I might just be hiding behind a cushion a lot…

A word on the costumes – they are fantastic. The dress rehearsal pictures actually made me jump (Victoria Pendleton and James Jordan especially…and Kristina because it didn’t look as if she had any arms..) albeit it sort of looking more like a Halloween party than a dancing competition. Props seem to be everywhere tonight, more’s the pity, but it’s too early to write anything off just yet… (we’ll do that in about 10 minutes?). No, I’m looking strictly at dancing and improvement – I promise I’ll try not to moan about the gimmicks [too much]. Winking smile

When did we become so obsessed with Halloween anyway? Must we do everything the USA do? Don’t answer that.


Group opener

I like the fact that the whole ‘class’ is involved in the opener for once. No points for song use – everybody can go check it off their bingo card for the evening.

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – Scooby Doo Theme – Cha Cha Cha

I never liked Scooby Doo – did they look like that? Did they? Vincent looks funny.

I should probably say something on the dancing shouldn’t I? Dani seems to be coping with a fast paced routine very well, she’s in time and her footwork is neat. Mercifully, it was a classic routine as well! I liked it. Right down to Anton’s cameo at the end…

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 8, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Richard Arnold and Erin Boag – O Fortuna – Paso Doble

I can’t remember the last time Erin got to do a Paso – Austin Healey maybe? Also, I’m not sure just how macho Richard could be throughout that considering the judges repeatedly tell him to ‘camp it up’.

Richard gave a very decent effort, I enjoyed it, but he needs work on that footwork still! Handled the cape well, hit some nice lines some of the time and by god I just love Erin Boag.

Also, there was a fire.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 5, Len 7, Bruno 5 = 22/40

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – Witch Doctor – Charleston

This song a) winds me right up and b) reminds me of those mini-disco’s on the continent…!

Lisa has some brilliant footwork going on here – it just isn’t right. Like, it’s all over the place although at least it’s in time. To me, it just wasn’t a Charleston; it wasn’t fast and furious like I like. And it was all just a bit weird. I’m confused.

My score: 4

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Sid Owen and Ola Jordan – Ghostbusters – Cha Cha Cha

The VTs….please make them stop! I’ve a lot of respect for Ola Jordan dancing tonight after all she has been through this week.

Well it was all a bit rigid given what we have seen from him in Salsa but, then again, he has learnt with one and danced with another so he was bound to look a bit out of sorts. I can’t really find much to say. It just…was.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 2, Darcey 5, Len 5, Bruno 5 = 17/40

Nicky Byrne and Karen Hauer – Weird Science – Tango

I like Karen’s dress for once. Not her song choice, as per usual.

They are covering the floor well this week, is there a corner they haven’t touched? It didn’t feel as fierce as a Tango normally does but it actually wasn’t bad. Contained the correct footwork carried off passably. It wasn’t the best but it really wasn’t bad.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 7, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Fern Britton and Artem Chigvintsev – Killer Queen – American Smooth

That VT may have rendered me speechless and I really do not like that this is an AS and Artem is shirtless, for heavens sake.

That was a bit of a bland dance as well – especially to that song! Liked the lifts though, my favourite part of the AS. I actually nodded off…I’m sorry. Twitter tells me that it wasn’t much.

My score: 4

Judges scores: Craig 4, Darcey 5, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 21/40

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – Superfreak  – Cha Cha Cha

Oh my, those costumes. But the cage…do we? Especially as she nearly fell out of it! Poor DVO.

Not Denise’s best dance, seemed a bit laboured. Hip action wasn’t as brilliant as we know she can do and she stumbled a little, maybe the nerves are back?

I’m losing interest.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 28/40
Michael Vaughan and Natalie Lowe – That Old Black Magic – Quickstep

This looked very good in training. Michael also shows promise as he noted that the Quickstep is ‘quick’.

Michael can actually quickstep. He’s moving around the floor excellently, leading Natalie and avoiding horse syndrome (galloping a la Jerry Hall) when dancing. It was a clean dance, devoid of annoying props and silly solo show-off bits, and I really enjoyed watching him. At last, A DECENT DANCE.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 7 = 31/40

Now we’re talking!

Victoria Pendleton and Brendan Cole – White Wedding – Tango

I do love a bit of Billy Idol! I confess.

Far the best we’ve seen from Victoria. Good and sharp choreography from Brendan, basic but yet pushing Pendles to the max after a few dodgy weeks. She is learning to handle her nerves and it just makes for a more comfortable dance when she actually looks like she wants to be there!

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

Colin Salmon & Kristina Rihanoff – Superstition – Salsa

That has to be the barmiest VT of them all thus far!

I associate this song with a Samba so it’s hard for me to see a Salsa actually! It’s starting to annoy me that all Colin does is throw Kristina around in a bid to cover up the height problems. Colin has good hip action though and managed to stay in time throughout so, whilst it wasn’t within my personal Salsa taste, it was an alright dance. Albeit a few errors…

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 7, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 24/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – Disturbia – Tango

It’s official, Strictly has lost the plot when it comes to VTs.

I like the choice for Tango song, sort of contemporary! His footwork was sharp but I think the storytelling was a bit heavy. Like, when Louis attempted to ‘bite’ Flavia he just looked as if he was yawning! (well, who can blame him…) The theme, for me, ruined it majorly but that’s just a personal taste, It was a high standard of Tango.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 9, Len 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – Hungry Like The Wolf – Paso Doble

I’ve never seen any walking wolves.

Took a long while to get into the dance but it was a good performance from Kimberley but lacked that aggressive spark that a Paso needs. Good footwork though, they move well as a couple around the floor. Disappointed by the lack of cape work though…

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 7, Bruno 8 = 31/40


It pains me to admit that I am extremely glad this is over. No dances really stood out and the theme was way too heavy on. And those VTs…just….please.

One couple (quite frankly I’m not sure which one right now) has failed to win the support of the public and will be eliminated from the competition in the results show! The rest will fight again next week in an un-themed week (we hope).

That was a nightmare…

Posted on October 27, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I agree with you entirely about the Halloween theme – extremely tiresome and merely distracted from the dancing! (Although I have to admit the costumes were pretty good).

    And, broadly speaking, I feel your assessments of the dances are spot on (perhaps you’re a little harsh on Lisa, although thus far the judges have been too lenient on her).

    But, hey, what a performance from Michael Vaughan! I’m so pleased that his hard work has finally paid off.

    Like

  2. I think two theme nights in a row is not a good idea but this is one they have to keep because all the costumes and makeup are so good. Agree the VT’s are painful but I don’t mind props if used in a productive manner.
    Also two of the midfield dancers improved which is no bad thing, I usually quite like your blog because your usually not grumpy or too up on own arse like some. Sadly not your best effort.

    Like

  3. I think actually your blog accurately reflected the slightly soporific feel of the show this week. The VTs were frankly torture to endure, Bruce laboured through some awful links and (despite the wonderful costumes) the show had a clumsy feel to it – not the slick, innovative product we are use to.

    Something is slightly off-key about this series of Strictly and I can’t quite put my finger on what it is. I suspect it is because the celebs themselves are not the easiest to warm to (though this is my own personal perception – I wouldn’t want to speak for every Strictly fan).

    A good blog because it must have been a difficult show to blog about.

    Like

  4. Sorry just need to comment again, its the third year for Halloween so i can’t see it being dropped. Also once the the less able and midfield start to go it will start to warm up. The talent is probably better then last year (only three people could really dance and they were all in the final) but maybe not at 2010 levels. If neither Michael nor Victoria had not shown any improvements I would agree but they did so that made it a good show.

    Like

    • Doesn’t stop me wishing it would be though, it is such an American gimmick.

      Well, what makes a show good for one person isn’t always what makes it good for another but still all points are welcome and fair! 🙂

      Like

  5. Love your blog – am watching the Saturday show right now (family event last night) and reading your comments as I go. I agree with you so far – am up to Lisa Riley. Hmmm wasn’t great!

    Like

  6. Craig calls it “a complete dance disaster” – it was going alright, and then it really wasn’t. Darcey thought he was a bit wooden, even when he was being good. Len calls Richard “the plodfather” – he didn’t recover from his mistake quickly enough. Bruno thought he was like a puppet with the strings cut.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Soft spot for Strictly « jessinbelgium

  2. Pingback: jess in belgium: Soft spot for Strictly

Tell Tasha.

