Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – Welcome to Hollywood! Week 3

STRICTLY GOES TO HOLLYWOOD!

BRUCIE SAYS RELAX!!

(Prepare for props…even the live kind)

It appears that although the BBC have pulled the plug on any Blackpool trips this year, we haven’t ruled out travel completely – well, if you squint hard enough, close the curtains and wind the clock back a number of hours. It’s true we are staying in Sheps Bush, but the theme of tonight’s [oddly 2 hour again] show is HOLLYWOOD! Also featuring some films that were originally more Broadway and less Beverly Hills.

Tonight we see a range of films represented ranging from classics like An Officer and A Gentleman to lovable children’s classic Toy Story. There will also be a moment of reminiscing for long-standing Strictly fans as Colin and Kristina dance an AT to the song of Ramps and Karen Hardy’s masterpiece all those years ago.

We begin on the ceiling as we look down at the start of a professional dance featuring a scantily clad Kristina in the company of our best boys for a 50 shades of Grey themed dance with feathers aplenty and clothes not-so-plenty. Fantastic start to the show though, Kristina was soon joined by the rest of our girls for the burlesque start to the show.

Oh, and it looks like Purim! Also, the judges desk looks like it says ‘arcey’ instead of ‘Darcey’. Just a side point.


Fern Britton and Artem Chigvintsev – ‘Supercalifragilisti​cexpialidocious’ – Mary Poppins Charleston

PENGUINS IN THE BACK.

Fern is sort of reminding me of those horses competing in dressage; she’s sort of trotting about and kicking sometimes. Considering she started out of time, we couldn’t expect it to be that fantastic. For me, I felt it was a little too dull and not enough Charleston for me.

My score: 4

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 23/40

Victoria Pendleton and Brendan Cole – Up Where We Belong – An Officer and a Gentleman Rumba

I have never felt comfortable watching the Rumba, as you will all know by now, regardless of whether it is professional or celebrity.

Personal taste in dance aside, Victoria and Brendan actually managed to conjure up some chemistry and pull off a sort-of decent dance. I say sort-of because the first half was excellent but then she had a wardrobe issue which threw her a bit making it all go off track a little bit. Silly wardrobe. Brilliant choreography from Brendan though, could have been something really special.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 4, Darcey 5, Len 7, Bruno 6 = 22/40

Michael Vaughan and Natalie Lowe – Hot Stuff – The Full Monty Cha Cha Cha

Worrying for Michael this week. Don’t think having a Latin this week is going to go well.

Clearly Natalie is on my wavelength because she completely took procrastination to a new level with that chicken-head-come-table start. Three weeks in and Michael is still representing a plank (as in rigid, not thick!) but he gave it a lot of energy and it’s just a shame really. Needs to work on his timing and hipwork (and not falling over props) but I am hoping the nation give him a chance.

My score: 4

Judges scores: Craig 3, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 4 = 19/40

Jerry Hall and Anton Du Beke – Mrs Robinson – The Graduate Quickstep

Jerry resembled Skippy the Bush Kangaroo at the start because she basically ran around after Anton. I disagree with Darcey and think it got marginally better as it went on – MARGINALLY. Her kicks were all over the place and the best bit was the end.

I see that now the Great British Bake-Off is over, this is where the innuendo budget is going.

My score: 4

Judges scores: Craig 3, Darcey 6, Len 5, Bruno 4 = 18/40

Sid Owen and Ola Jordan – Here I Go Again – Rock of Ages Tango

Hats off to the costume department this week. Sid could pass more for a girl than a rocker though.

……and dance, when you’re ready. A lot of faffing about at the start with the guitar. Didn’t get much better when he got rid of the guitar but his hold position is improving and he has potential! We just need to get that out of him!

My score: 4

Judges scores: Craig 4, Darcey 4, Len 5, Bruno 5 = 17/40

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – Get Happy – Summer Stock Quickstep

And so the faffing continues!

However, once Kimberley and Pasha came together it was a proper Quickstep. Fast, fluid and full of technique. She has her footwork nailed to near perfection as far as this dance is concerned. Also, great musicality and storytelling.

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 7, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 8 = 29/40

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – You’ve Got a Friend in Me – Toy Story Foxtrot

I don’t recall Jessie looking blue like that…

Denise has a lovely elegancy about her. Her posture is perfect and her footwork is fine. With her, it’s just working and working to be the best she can be. I found it boring though, but that’s because I find the Foxtrot boring, no reflection on them. Although, I have enjoyed some StrictlyTrots over the years, so maybe Denise and James were just missing that something special…

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 32/40

Colin Salmon and Kristina Rihanoff – GoldeneyeGoldeneye Argentine Tango

*MOURNS FOR RAMPS AND KAREN*

A lot of people on Digital Spy were certain that these two were going to try and recreate that iconic AT but this is quite it’s own dance! That was not at all bad – like I expected it to be with such an intricate dance so early on in the competition. I liked the choreography a lot there; albeit if it did mean Kristina spent a significant amount of that dance up in the air. My favourite thus far.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 7, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 26/40

Richard Arnold and Erin Boag – 9 to 5 – 9 to 5 Quickstep

Tuuuuuune. More procrastination.

Love watching Erin doing the Quickstep – she is my queen. Richard showing significant improvement, he kept up with the fast routine and pulled it off in my opinion! Okay so it wasn’t the best technique-wise but it was a very passable effort! And he is just so loveable.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 7, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 25/40

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – Somewhere Over the Rainbow – Wizard of Oz Foxtrot

*wipes tears* This is so beautiful – the singing as well! That was graceful and elegant; lovely and clean turns with brilliantly neat footwork. I liked the choreography from Vincent there and one little part allowed Dani to hit a beautiful leg extension completing it all.

Cute dog as well. Awwww.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 6, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 29/40

Alright, I’m finally going to make this comment on scoring: WHAT ON EARTH IS GOING ON?! It is totally up in the air! That is all.

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – Hanky Panky – Dick Tracy Jive

Lisa wins the ‘worst costume of the week’ award anyway.

I love her energy and her vibrancy – attracts me to the dance before the steps even kick in. Lisa isn’t bad either, she’s keeping in time and the footwork is actually pretty okay. Lisa really is a real dark horse!

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 8 = 29/40

Nicky Byrne and Karen Hauer – Hey Pachuco – The Mask Quickstep

Probably Nick’s best dance to date actually and nice to see Karen playing by the rules this week. Full of energy for once, meant he wasn’t bland as he has been in the past weeks. Great storytelling as well and, dance wise, a very good Quickstep.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – (I’ve Had) The Time of My Life – Dirty Dancing Salsa

I knew that they were going to leave Lou and Flav until last. I’m not sure why, but it feels like the BBC are trying to make something more out of these two despite them having a purely platonic relationship and Flav being in a happy relationship with Jimi Mistry.

Another outing for this song but at least he can actually dance. He has the hips down and the footwork is crisp, nimble and, well, correct. There just wasn’t too much choreography in there. Very glad the lift worked – had my heart in my mouth! And still, I loved it. My favourite dance of the night – followed by Dani and Colin.

My score: 8

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 6, Bruno 8 = 30/40

Posted on October 20, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hi! I don’t do much blogging but I love your post. I don’t know where to start. I agree with DVO “I can’t dance” won’t win, Lewis is gorgeous and a great dancer but he is too controlled and I don’t think he will let go and “dance”. Lisa Riley was brilliant when she danced to ‘Think’ but I think she might be a one trick pony – the judges were very kind to her but didn’t give her the longevity comments. Let’s keep in touch! x

    Like

    • Certainly, all Strictly fans welcome haha!

      I can’t help thinking that Lisa is doing well (with me as well) because of her energy and maybe that won’t be able to mask her footwork as we go on throughout the competition!

      I think DVO is the front runner right now, but she appears to be the judges favourite regardless!

      Like

  2. She’s very good but she’s danced in the West End (well jell) x

    Like

  1. Pingback: Strictly Come Dancing Results 2012 – Week 3 « tashaontv

Tell Tasha.

