Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – And battle commences, Week 2

Tonight, all 14 couples will dance one of five styles for our votes as they compete for high scores and to avoid the dreaded dance-off.

Dun dun dun.

The show this evening is of spectacular length at 115 minutes! Sounds like heaven but I remember last year being a real test of patience – mainly because of Sir Bruce of Bad Jokes and aggravating VTs but, you know, don’t write it off so soon and all…http://www.thedrum.com/uploads/drum_basic_article/93522/main_images/bbc%20television%20centre.jpg

I toddled across to Television Centre earlier to meet some of my twitter friends (I was shopping in Westfield and they had SCD tickets, it wasn’t some kind of social experiment to find tweeters) and was astonished by the length of the queue by 11am! ; ; ; Honestly, I admire those who sit outside in the cold and queue for the show – I’d never have the patience. However, it is most definitely worth it; live TV is a wonderful experience…and it’s Strictly! But to all my friends who were there this week, I hope you had a brilliant evening!

WEEKLY NEWS: Denise Van Outen has suffered a mild case of whiplash during rehearsals this week but WILL dance whilst Aliona Vilani has been ruled out of this years competition for at least another 4 weeks leaving Johnny Ball ; with Iveta Lukosiute for the foreseeable. Also, Nicky Byrne is another year older.


Nicky Byrne and Karen Hauer – Dynamite – Cha Cha Cha

Costume department clearly haven’t been fed. They’re angry. And okay, so I’m sitting here singing the Chanukah version of this song.

Nicky appears to be better at Latin at first go, last week ballroom was a little of a mess. Nick’s hips are moving at speed and in time, his footwork was sort of decent but was in a Cha Cha Cha? He had vibrant energy running through that though, and we can use that on a show like this!

My score: 4

Judges scores = Craig 4, Darcey 5, Len 4, Bruno 5 = 18/40

Colin Salmon and Kristina Rihanoff – A Kiss from a Rose – Viennese Waltz

This height difference is absurd!

Colin looks very stiff, think ‘stick-up-bottom pose’. His hold position is correct though, albeit it needing to have a little more fluidity (for want?) about it. His footwork was passable which adds promise. I just can’t see them as a couple though, I can’t smile when I watch them because they just aren’t elegant…yet.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 24/40

Dani Harmer and Vincent Simone – Mama Do the Hump – Salsa

I don’t know what the ‘hump’ is but I am not sure I want to see my Mother ‘do it’. Also, PACMAN?

You can see a better side to Dani because her energy is completely shining through but I didn’t enjoy it that much. The lifts were messy but I think it was purely the song choice that stopped me enjoying the routine. Having said that, I can’t slate her movement because she appears to have great musicality and ability to cope with fast and furious choreography.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Fern Britton and Artem Chigvintsev – Always a Woman – Viennese Waltz

Song of John Lewis advert fame!

Aw, points to these two for the biggest smiles of the night thus far! Unexpectedly, Fern makes for a graceful ballroom dancer whilst in hold! The pair of them moving around the floor was elegant and a joy to watch. Footwork maybe a little basic, but it’s only her first go.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 24/40

Richard Arnold and Erin Boag – Love Shack – Cha Cha Cha

Those outfits burn. This is going to be so camp.

Richard needs to stop singing and keep his face in check, firstly. We didn’t see much of a Cha Cha Cha – just a lot of hip wiggling and shimmying much like the singers are doing each week anyway. It was…unique?

My score: 4

Judges scores: Craig 3, Darcey 6, Len 5, Bruno 5 = 19/40

Victoria Pendleton and Brendan Cole – Moondance – Foxtrot

When Victoria was first announced, I said to my friend that I thought she would be more of a Ballroom girl and this is why. She’s a very elegant woman and when in hold she can hit some beautiful lines. After her nerves ruined her last week, Brendan leading her seems to have quashed any lurking this week which has allowed her to actually dance. Her footwork was spot on but now to work on those turns – perfect them.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Michael Vaughan and Natalie Lowe – This Old House – Jive

And the pointless props have returned to us. Just when we were celebrating their death…

Michael was totally all over the place but it was by far the most enjoyable routine so far! There was so much kicking and flicking it was just all a bit weird.I looked down for a second and looked back up to see a prop sprawled on the floor…I’m just confused. It was…brilliantly bad?

My score: 3

Judges scores = Craig 2, Darcey 5, Len 4, Bruno 4 = 15/40

Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – Puppy Love – Viennese Waltz

HIS HAIR. OH MY WORD. FIRE THE STYLIST.

Louis was great in hold and very elegant twirling around the floor. He really led Flavia in a beautiful VW. However, it would have been better on mute.

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig: 7, Darcey 7, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 30/40

Denise Van Outen and James Jordan – Tutti Frutti – Jive

This is more like it! Denise has her kicks and flicks down well; very sharp and pointed. James put a lot of complicated choreography into that routine but Denise coped with it very well. A very fast jive with plenty of character – bravo. You can actually understand how she suffered whiplash really.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 8, Bruno 8 = 32/40

Johnny Ball and Iveta Lukosiute – Everything – Foxtrot

I see those props are back again. It’s like a bad dream. Well, it could be a swing…

Johnny is having a ball singing along again this week. Dancing wise, footwork needs to become more intricate and focused and his hold position needs to be corrected, but it was a good effort. You can see he is trying hard and, well, you can’t not love him!

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 5, Len 5, Bruno 5 = 20/40

Sid Owen and Ola Jordan – Hips Don’t Lie – Salsa

Nice to see everybody getting involved.

The routine choreography was fantastic, it’s just a shame he went off time so early on which seemed to make him a little reserved for the rest of the dance. His hips were a bit static but his upper body movement proves that Sid does have musicality and can dance Latino.

My score: 6

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 5, Bruno 5 = 22/40

Kimberley Walsh and Pasha Kovalev – Someone Like You – Foxtrot

ADELE klaxon one and the return of that lamppost we are so desperately trying to get rid of.

Very dramatic setting for this dance with the dress, lights and song! It was beautiful and elegant, they moved around the floor as one. The Foxtrot has complicated footwork and Kimberley coped well with it. I thought it was wonderful.

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 7, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Jerry Hall and Anton Du Beke – Pennies from Heaven – Foxtrot

At this present moment in time, I cannot work out if she is putting on an act or is actually deluded.

I love watching Anton in the ballroom – oh gosh he is fantastic. Jerry was actually pleasant to watch dancing in hold (apart from her elbow actually being up around her ears at one point!) and Anton didn’t actually let her go out of hold for me to comment on solo dancing except for the end. I didn’t think it was that bad.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 3, Darcey 5, Len 5, Bruno 5 = 18/40

Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor – Never Tear Us Apart – Viennese Waltz

Presumably last because she was the highlight of the week last week! I see the John Lewis adverts are all the rage this week.

That wasn’t as bad as I thought she was going to be in Ballroom and I love how Lisa was trying not to laugh her way through that dance. Her posture needs some work but her footwork is technically there. Once she works on her hold, she’ll be able to relax and let Robin lead her.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 25/40


So that’s it! The 2 hours of sparkly wonderment is over and tomorrow night (later) 14 will become 13. Who is it going to be? Who is safe and who is on dodgy ground?

About Natasha

Lover of television. Blogger of much.

Posted on October 13, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell Tasha.

