Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – A continuation, Week 1B

Baffled as to why we couldn’t start in one night.

Tonight the other eight couples take to the floor with [their interpretations of either] a Cha Cha Cha or a Waltz. We also see our first professional dance of the series and collectively try to work out in which kick Ola broke James’s nose.

Ready? Yah? Let’s go.

Opening routine

The generic routine starting in a line on the main floor really is a thing of the past isn’t it?

As you know, my words on these are limited because I can’t criticise anything as they are just perfect. Lively and jolly start to what will be a fantastic show and arguably a very high standard series.

I wish I could dance.

Kimberley Walsh & Pasha Kovalev – Domino – Cha Cha Cha

Well, she is certainly embracing the spirit of the Latin! It was fluid and sassy choreography. Pasha put some complicated steps in there but Kimberley managed to keep up with her footwork and hip movements better than expected from the first week. Girl can move – I think she’ll be in it for the long run.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 7, Darcey 7, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 28/40

Sid Owen & Ola Jordan – I Won’t Give Up – Waltz

That wasn’t anywhere near as bad as the world thought it was going to be!

Sid’s posture was actually correct and they looked elegant as a couple. Nice and calm movements around the ever-decreasing Strictly floor. I was expecting Ola to just drag him around the floor, I’m happily surprised. So is Twitter.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Johnny Ball & Iveta ‘Ali-clone-na’ Lukosiute – Drive My Car – Cha Cha Cha

I do find it a bit weird that she dyed her hair red to look like Aliona – apparently.

Iveta is just dancing around Johnny here who doesn’t really seem to be moving much. Bit awkward – flashbacks of Paul Daniels here. There were some decent steps toward the end though but I can’t see his campaign for the glitterBALL going very well.

My score: 3

Judges scores: Craig 3, Darcey 5, Len 5, Bruno 4 = 17/40

Dani Harmer & Vincent Simone – Open Arms – Waltz

These two have become ‘Team Smurf’…which I find weird because they aren’t blue.

Well, was that a stumble I spotted in that first spin? Apart from that which may or may not have occurred, it was decent. Felt like I was watching Dani being shlapped about the floor a little and she was wobbly but I put this down to nerves – as to be expected. I can see her enjoyment and all the technique is there…it just needs piecing together.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 5, Len 6, Bruno 5 = 21/40

Lisa Riley & Robin Windsor – Think – Cha Cha Cha

Despite the obvious timing issues, I’d say this was my favourite dance of the night so far. I can feel her energy flowing through the routine and there was the aura of cheek that a Cha Cha needs to have about it. Okay so it was pretty basic technique wise, but it was great to watch her shaking and shimmying. I’m pretty convinced that Lisa can actually reach middle-of-the-road! Totally blown away.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 8, Darcey 8, Len 7, Bruno 7 = 30/40

Richard Arnold & Erin Boag – You Don’t Bring Me Flowers – Waltz

The emotion in the dance almost brought a tear to my eye! His posture wasn’t too bad, albeit maybe he was a little wooden in places, but him and Erin moving about the floor made decent viewing. However, I’m concerned for his Latin…

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 5, Len 7, Bruno 5 = 22/40

Jerry Hall & Anton Du Beke – Everybody Loves To Cha Cha – Cha Cha Cha

Apparently she is quite the diva. Can’t imagine why.

Jerry does not look like she wants to be present. Nor was there any Cha Cha in there whatsoever…but whether Anton actually put it in and Jerry just failed to deliver it is any man’s guess! She looks like could have rhythm hiding somewhere under all that posing! Alas, for tonight, qué asco…

My score: 3

Judges scores: Craig 3, Darcey 5, Len 5, Bruno 5 = 18/40

Louis Smith & Flavia Cacace – Forget You – Cha Cha Cha

Well there isn’t any doubting that Louis can work his body well, I mean we saw that over the summer. It almost looks as if he was trying to hard and, for me, he carried an air of arrogance. Dancing wise, he kept up with a packed routine from Flavia there and, apart from tripping off time a few times (minimal damage), it was a good first performance.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 8, Len 6, Bruno 7 = 27/40


Merlin lovers everywhere – we apologise for being overtime. But we had to announce (again) that the DANCE-OFF HAS RETURNED! Jury is still out on whether or not this is a good or bad thing.

However, that’s it for this weekend though! It Takes Two starts with Zoe on Monday at 6.30pm over on BBC2 and the show airs again on Saturday for a massive two hours!

Until then, folks.

Posted on October 6, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was so thrilled by last nights opener i watched the rugby tonight!

    Like

Tell Tasha.

