Strictly Come Dancing 2012 – Let the games begin, Week 1A

For it is Strictly season once again.

3 weeks after the launch show, it is finally starting! The commencement of Strictly Come Dancing 2012 and I could not be more thrilled. I’ve been splitting a few hairs and making some proposals for this here tenth series over as a ghost on MSN – I really am hoping for 3 and 5 to happen more so than anything!

This evening’s show will feature the first 6 couples in the competition dancing eithnd_100er a Cha Cha Cha or a Waltz whilst the remaining 8 will dance for us tomorrow evening. The first elimination will not occur until next weekend, but this weekend serves as the famous first impressions – and we know what a difference they can all make. Tonight will be all about bad jokes (I call double-oh-SEVE-ERN for one) and marking out what kind of judge our Darcey is going to be.


Fern Britton & Artem Chigvintsev – Signed Sealed Delivered – Cha Cha

By heavens, have I missed that brilliant band!

Fern’s actually surprised me a bit tonight, her footwork was a little less stompy than I thought it was going to be. Hips move well demonstrating that rhythm resides within Britton. It wasn’t particularly wild like I like Cha Cha’s to be, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 4, Darcey 5, Len 5, Bruno 5 = 19/40

Nicky Byrne & Karen Hauer – I Wonder Why – Waltz

Karen has picked a fight with wardrobe on week one – that can only get worse.

I think the nation has high hopes for this two [because he is in a ‘boyband’] and I would put him in the final now if you gave me a list to choose. However, for now, he is very wooden with a posture that needs a lot of work. Regardless of it being illegal in Waltz, having a lift in week one was terribly ill thought-out – Nicky did not look very comfortable. Anyway, it wasn’t a particularly good dance, sorry.

My score: 3

Judges scores: Craig 2, Darcey 5, Len 5, Bruno 5 = 17/40

Michael Vaughan & Natalie Lowe – If You Don’t Know Me By Now – Waltz

Oh what a beautiful dress!

Points to anybody who can dance down those stairs without fault so early on. Michael wasn’t as terrible as I thought he was going to be, and you can see potential for him to hit some lovely lines and dance very elegantly, he just needs to get to grips with hold. And tell his face that he is enjoying it.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 5, Darcey 5, Len 6, Bruno 4 = 20/40

Victoria Pendleton & Brendan Cole – Spinning Around – Cha Cha Cha

For want of copying Brucie, Vicky is my favourite. There is just something about her that makes me absolutely love her – way before London 2012. Ergo, I am very excited. Not about that outfit though. *shudder*

Well she looks like she is having a blast but I think she is completely out of time and not to mention a bit lost. Nerves completely got the better of her there despite her plastering that lovely smile on her face. I can see her trying, I can see her wanting to do this…she has potential.

My score: 4

Judges scores: Craig 3, Darcey 4, Len 5, Bruno 4 = 16/40

Colin Salmon & Kristina Rihanoff – I Got You (I Feel Good) – Cha Cha

Well somebody else annoyed wardrobe as well.

He seems confident which can only be enhancing a very decent first performance. He wobbled out of time a tad and Kristina did a fair amount of the routine with him standing in the middle but when Colin did move, you can see his potential skill level.

My score: 5

Judges scores: Craig 4, Darcey 7, Len 6, Bruno 6 = 23/40

Denise Van Outen & James Jordan – With You I’m Born Again – Waltz

These two have a huge fanbase already.

Denise has a very elegant way about her; she dances with a grace that makes me want to see more of her. Her posture was good, her hold is good and her lines were excellent for the first week. She’s going to go far if she keeps that up. Which will please many.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 6, Darcey 6, Len 6, Bruno 7 = 25/50


So that is tonight’s show done and dusted and my review written. I will be here all season – starting with week 1 take two tomorrow. BBC1 6.30pm.

Don’t miss it!

Posted on October 5, 2012, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Well like yah i mean yeah so i think it was really good yeah i mean yah i think yah! – she is irritating!

    why has the aliona stand in been made to look like Aliona?

    Highlight of the night the one and only Karen looking lovely in pink on the red button with Harry Judd.

    Also Fern and Artem being referred to as Team Fartem

    Like

    • Haha I think it is too early to ‘hate’ on Darcey – she could be helpful for the couples, I mean, who knows! We’ll see!

      Yes, Iveta did just look a bit weird. Blonde really suited her!

      Like

  2. Kathy Williams

    Great recap for me as usual Tasha I do like your style… very concise. 😉
    Would add that having watched again on a very jerky iplayer than Len was right about DVOs footwork. We were all mesmerised by her grace and elegant upper body but think she may be the Queen of Bluff.

    Like

Tell Tasha.

