Strictly Come Dancing – Viva la Blackpool! – Grand final part 1!

I’m here. I’m in house for the final because issues arose that prevented me from leaving you – you adorable people.

AND IT’S THE FINAL. I really can’t believe it is the final. I mean, it feels like yesterday it was the phoney war before the first show – I know that sounds really cliché but it really does. This year has gone scarily fast. This series has flown as well – that goes for It Takes Two as well. It’s been quite a series though hasn’t it? Ups and downs. Silly partnership rows. Stupid pros. Wardrobe gaffs. Arguments. Pointless VT’s. Bloody themes. Oh, and some dancing too…

The campaign for Harry to win tonight is already trending so I guess that gives us some idea of his fanbase and subsequently that he probably will lift the trophy. However, it is going to be a very close final by the looks of things and, contra to Alesha Dixon’s belief, I still maintain this is very much a 3 horse race (for now, anyway). But we shall see. We shall also see a Class of 2011 dance at some point. Some professional dances too. And a musical act I believe is Jessie J. We’re also in 3D but I think only about 0.4% of the population can utilise that one! Those TV’s are costly…and also 3D gives me a massive headache.

Anyhow, enough of me. Let battle commence. It’s go time.

Opener

BON JOVI! What in the world were costume thinking?! Or not thinking, I mean they clearly lost the budget for clothing by the time they got around to this. I do hope somebody turned the heater on then so they are not freezing. Nice start though, love the finalists being carted in. Anyway, maybe that was better in 3D because it didn’t ‘wow’ me in 2D.


TESS LEG UPDATE: Too tight and she looks like a pink mermaid.


Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Judges choice – Quickstep

I don’t like these recaps. They are such an annoyance. Honestly…*sigh*

Same outfits. Same choreography. Just as strong with his kicks. Just as smooth with his movement. Nice to see she kept it with the traditional routine – it was simply brilliant. It is simply brilliant. I feel a 40 coming on!

My score: 10

Alesha is looking like a dalek. Don’t hate. She’s beautiful but…

Judges scores = Craig 10 Len 10 Alesha 10 Bruno 10 = 40/40

Jason Donovan and Kristina Rihanoff – Judges choice – Tango

No let’s not see what it means to them as it is bloody boring. Aren’t these exactly the same VT’s as on It Takes Two yesterday? Or mostly identical.

Return of the pink campness. Anybody else singing along? Bruno dancing there too! Jason is really giving it his all – he is such a showman! Aggressive yet passive. Elegant yet sharp. Pink yet perfect. The minor flaws of the first time about are gone. Flawless. Such a great routine.

You can tell I haven’t a clue what to say considering I have already blogged on these dances once.

My score: 10

Judges scores: Craig 9 Len 10 Alesha 10 Bruno 9 = 38/40

Chelsee Healey and Pasha Kovalev – Judges choice – Jive

No green make-up. Que sera. YAY IT’S THE DONKEY. I saw this live – it was ELECTRIC. Not as sharp as before but still pretty good. Very very fast. Somehow she seems to be enjoying it more though and that seems to have given her more confidence. However, I preferred it last time…seemed…cleaner.

My score: 9

Erin Boag is wearing a nighty.

Judges scores = Craig 9 Len 10 Alesha 10 Bruno 10 = 39/40


Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Showdance

I am very apprehensive about this as I know Aliona’s potential for failing choreography. And the emphasis on the lifts scare me. But we shall go into it with a clear mind…

Actually dancing content in the first section! Little jive/salsa stint with great footwork and brilliant armography. Lifts actually complimenting the dance unlike hers and Matt’s last year which was, quite frankly, a disaster.

Okay I typed too soon, we seemed to descend into acrobatics for the last 20 seconds or so and the dancing stopped about a minute in. Saw the drums coming a mile off. But, oddly, I  kind of liked it. Some of that choreography was impeccable but too much flinging about of Aliona and too little dancing for my liking. But he performed what he was given to do perfectly and brilliantly…no problems with his talent…

My score: 9

Judges scores = Craig 9 Len 9 Alesha 10 Bruno 9 = 37/40

Jason Donovan and Kristina Rihanoff – Showdance

Lovely little Charleston start there although one of those lifts nearly killed her. Quickstep section was very good – strong and sharp. Another lift. Can we ban lifts? Ooooh, costume change! I like, actually rather original for a showdance. I rather loved the story going through that one actually. It was actually quite phenomenal. Lots of dancing from lots of different styles all put together very cleverly! The ultimate showman’s dance.

My second favourite showdance. Camilla Dallerup and Tom Chambers still in first.

My score: 10

Judges scores = Craig 10 Len 10 Alesha 10 Bruno 10 = 40/40

Chelsee Healey and Pasha Kovalev – Showdance

It’s disco time! Elvis feat. Beyoncé. Or maybe Elton John??

THAT LIFT. Incredible! The start one? But by the time the end came it felt like it was way too many lifts and next to no dancing. There were elements of style in there and it was all performed perfectly and flawlessly. But I enjoyed watching Chelsee doing her own style on her own – very brave for her to be put out there on her own and carry it off.

My score: 9

Judges scores = Craig 9 Len 9 Alesha 9 Bruno 9 = 36/40


Well that has tipped it all on its head! Jason is now the front runner! I’m worried Chelsee just lost it for herself…

But we will see. In one hour. Woop. I feel the excitement!

Until then, read, comment and pass it on!

Winking smile

For now,

Natasha x

Posted on December 17, 2011, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This has to be the closest Strictly in a long time – really is too close to call 🙂

    Brilliant blogging again – your blog really has become part of the Strictly experience. I think Harry has done enough to shade it but it is by no means a shoe-in….. Bring on the results 🙂

    Like

  2. im bored, its boring lulu looks like she is sucking a wasp hope it gets better

    Like

  3. I have to say I was disappointed at Craig being very generous to others (Harry) when Chelsee deserved at least one ten of him. For me, Harry’s quickstep looked very rushed (and his frame was incorrect) as it did before whereas Chelsee’s quickstep was flowing and energetic.
    You may have guessed at who my favourite was :p

    Well done, Natasha, for your excellent blogging this year.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Strictly Come Dancing Results – This is it! – Grand final part 2! « tashaontv

Tell Tasha.

