Strictly Come Dancing – Swingy Thingy Bedlam!

Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!

Just 7 out of 14 couples remain and the competition is growing with each passing day yet it is increasingly hard to pick a clear front runner! We’ve seen budding personalities (Alex), surprisingly good moves (Robbie and Anita) and high scoring when we least expected it (Alesha Harry and Jason) but yet the trophy really could be anyone’s! This week will not fail to cater for our sparkly themed needs but, fear not, I shall scrutinize every aspect of the show. Right down to that horrible Swing-A-Thon loitering presumably at the end of tonight’s show. That was a mess last year.

I’ve also been busy with Strictly this week in the way of 5 It Takes Two reviews for MSN.co.uk as I was kindly offered the opportunity by the one and only Matthew Ball (no relation to Zoe!) and these can be found on their blog!

TESS LEG UPDATE: Erm….you know the drill. Dress….is…bad.

Anita Dobson and ‘Rent-A-Pro’ Boomerang Brendan Cole – Cha Cha Cha

Brendan bounces back but this time to Anita! I love watching Brendan dance but I miss Bobby! Anita’s lost it a couple of times already but recovered well even though it is looking as if she is being thrown about the floor. Love the solo section as it showcased her brilliant acting skills. Not too much I can say about it really because I appreciate how hard it is to be with a new partner and a new way of being taught after 8 weeks! Nice effort as always Anita!

My score: 7

#rentacheese

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 8, Alesha 7, Bruno 8 = 30/40



Think they are being really stupid having past pros in the back as it proves Sunday isn’t live as they are clearly there for professional dances! Winking smile


Holly Valance and Artem Chigvintsev – Foxtrot

Delayed start faffing about with props – which is even worse because Holly needs to really show us what she can do this week to avoid the bottom 2 again and use all the time available! But when finally into it, hitting brilliant lines with neat footwork and movement. Didn’t rate the music much – I love the song but want traditional songs used for Ballroom! Did he do the rule-breaking lift he promised?

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 8, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 34/40

Alex Jones and James Jordan – Charleston

Think this dance may suit Alex’s personality – bubbly and fun! Needs to have straighter legs in her kicks though and really get those arms up instead of half-hearted attempts. Nobody shoot me but I thought it was all a little messy in places and didn’t really flow…but maybe that was just me…

Best Charleston will always be Chris Hollins and Ola Jordan!

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 7, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 29/40

Robbie Savage and Ola Jordan – Samba

I cannot stand this song. Already a downer. However, his Samba rolls are promising and the moves are actually Samba which is different to last weeks monstrosity at Wembley. It wasn’t brilliant and that ending was just stupid. It’s a shame, he could be so good.

My score: 5

Judges scores = Craig 5, Len 7, Alesha 7, Bruno 6 = 25/40


#scd and #rentapro trending WORLDWIDE on twitter! Really shows how viewing has shot up this year!


Chelsee Healey and Pasha Kovalev – Argentine Tango

Traditional music. Un-traditional door frame and lamppost. Drama, aggression and passion flowing right from the start coursing through the pulse of the dance! Nice gauchos and strong movement around the floor hitting some excellent lines. Would have liked to have seen a better ending that randomly walking off though. Loved it.

My score: 9

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 9, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Jason Donovan and Kristina Rihanoff – Charleston

BEEN SO EXCITED FOR THIS! The Great Gatsby is amazing! Except for it being the bane of my English AS failure last year. They really do look like Jay Gatsby and Daisy Buchanan! Finally a use for his facial expressions! Brilliant and strong kicks and flicks with great armography! Love the storytelling and the acting – complete with energy oozing out of it. DANCE OF THE NIGHT.

My score: 9

Judges scores = Craig 9, Len 9, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Quickstep

Dress disaster of the night for me but song is well suited to the dance so not a double whammy! Lovely and fast but yet not messy and uncontrolled – smooth movement. Effortlessly moving around the floor and very traditional which is a first for Aliona! Sharp kicks in the kick section and Harry kept up very well. I think I need a lie down.

My judges: 9

*silence as half the nation switches over to the X Factor’*

Judges scores = Craig 9, Len 10, Alesha 10, Bruno 10 = 39/40

SWING-A-MESS THON

Goodness me, gah. ROUTING FOR JASON AND KRISTINA!

Here we go…

What is Holly doing in trousers? I like frilly dresses! This are so boring to watch beause you can’t actually focus!

First out: Robbie and Ola scoring 1 point.

Second out: Anita and Brendan scoring 2 points.

Third out: Holly and Artem scoring 3 points.

Fourth out: Jason and Kristina scoring 4 points.

Fifth out: Alex and James scoring 5 points.

Sixth out: Runner-up: Chelsee and Pasha scoring 6 points.

WINNER: Harry and Aliona scoring 7 points.


Right, that’s a wrap! And now it is in our hands! Personally, watch out Robbie and Anita!

I shall see you tomorrow night for the results!

Thank you for reading!

Natasha x

Posted on November 26, 2011, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. not really moved by anything this week it was 6 years ago tonight that Karen and Bill were voted off series 3 😦

    Like

  2. Awesome blog as ever Nat 🙂 I’ll have to read the ITT ones immediately!! I loved Alex and Chelsee tonight (as usual) I’m still mad a t Jason and Kristina for using Laila and Anton’s Charleston song :@ so I was too angsty to enjoy it! Holly still didn’t show us enough character/personality (imho anyway) And I agree with your bottom two prediction although that was also mine last week and look what happened there!!
    The Swing-a-thon was crazy but at least no-one got kicked in the face! Glad Harry won it although I don’t know how he had the energy after that Quickstep!
    Hope Robbie goes tomorrow, his hip thrusts are getting too much!!

    Like

  3. Great blog as always 🙂 I think this week was not as spectacular as last weeks. Some great dancing from Harry, some not so great from Anita and Robbie. In essence, it doesn’t really matter which one of these go this week – sadly the other will follow next week I think.

    I quite enjoyed the swing-a-thon, I’m in favour of anything trying to shake up the format a little bit. I thought James and Alex were a little lucky but generally the marks were about right.

    Like

  4. As usual witty – you will go far

    Like

  5. I actually really liked the swingathon as I did last year. I seriously think the BBC and the judges are being far too biased on Harry. My guess is that the producers desperately need him for the final so yes, they’ll allow Craig to give a 9 as is Craig, but they told the other judges to give him 10s. For me, it looked far too forced, didn’t have enough ease and his shoulders were too far forward. Do you agree?
    C&P to win!

    Like

Tell Tasha.

