Strictly Come Dancing – WE’RE ALL ON OUR WAY TO WEMBLEY!

…Pudsey’s gonna do it again! There’ll be jiving and there’ll be flying, the gang from old Wood Lane! Hey! (Terrible)

So hello guys! And you will have to put up with my random jingles throughout. My title isn’t strictly true because many of us aren’t actually at Wembley tonight!

Tonight is of course the night after Children In Need where TVC1 is invade by yellow confetti and Pudsey which evicts Strictly every year. But as Blackpool was fully booked (or somebody decided to move the final there), Wembley arena is our tour Strictly venue! 6,000 people and 8 celebrities. What more could we want? (A props fire perhaps)_56699593_pudsey_bbc

Tonight the theme (*shudder*) is Best Of British! Which probably entails some trout jokes about Craig and a whole lot of patriotic gags which will fail to make us laugh. A few pro dances along the way one hopes.

I think the pre-credits demonstrate that they are associating this with football. Football is STADIUM. This isn’t! Fluff alert. Right, beginning a ‘Wembley’ tally.

It’s like watching a tour and that gallileo bit was on Eastenders last night! I can’t watch any of the dancing because it is too vast and too spread out. Making me a little dizzy with all the panning if I’m honest.

TESS LEG UPDATE: I missed her leg but why isn’t she wearing yellow?! Sad smile Pudsey no likey.

The acoustics are TERRIBLE. Tess’s words are bouncing back. And I really think Artem is making a huge mistake dancing after his injury.

Robbie Savage and Ola Jordan – Salsa

Pointless VT’s again. What has Ola got living in her hair?! It’s MAH-OOS-SIVE! Wow that was a heck of a lift/swing! Felt like it was missing dancing and was just full of lifts and turns…and flinging Ola about. Felt a little gymnastic-y…and then a Cha Cha Cha if anything. SO show-offy and mental. But, then again, any dance that starts with clapping normally fails.

I see Alesha has the same hair issue. I think the hairdresser needs glasses.

My score: 6…

Judges scores = Craig 5, Len 7, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Alex Jones and James Jordan – Tango

Dancing with curtains again I see Alex. Great Tango music! Virgin Atlantic advert Winking smile Love that it is a traditional Tango and contains what it should contain. Nice kicks and flicks. Didn’t get so much aggression from Alex as I would have liked to seen but still was a convincing Tango.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 9, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40


Does it make me a very mean person I am dying for somebody to fall flat on their face on that run? Yes.


Holly Valance and Artem Chigvintsev – Quickstep

Love the set design with their stride up to the mini-stage! Artem looks like he is in pain but Holly looks perfect in this dance. Around and around the floor confidently; albeit a little dash-y in the end. Actually a little haphazard right about then. But still a very good attempt. She did tweet that it was going to be horrendous. It wasn’t too bad. First of the three to actually use the floor.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig = 7, Len 8, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

Artem is clutching his back. Why on earth did he try to pick her up at the end? Glutton for punishment!

Anita Dobson and Robin Windsor – Samba

I LOVE THIS SONG. Bit messy I’m afraid on the moves around the floor. Improved on the stage section but Anita is visible 10 seconds behind Robin sporting some downright odd facial expressions. Disappointed in that. Watch out Anita. Samba curse is back.

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 7, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Salsa

DANCING TO ‘I’M STILL STANDING’. UPROAR. JILL AND DARREN JIVE FOREVER. Do some dancing for gods sake. Not really too much of a Salsa there either but what we did see of the dance was awesome. Harry is such a strong dancer but I feel the choreography isn’t punishing enough for him.

My score: 7

Len thinks this is a Samba and in fact it was a Salsa to a Jive song. With a terrible routine. And in Ola’s costume so twitter informs me.

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 8, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 34/40

WHY DO THEIR SCORES NEVER REFLECT THEIR COMMENTS?!

Russell Grant and Flavia Cacace – Jive

CANNON TIME. PUDSEY TIME. REACH FOR THE STARS! VT showing now signs of dancing and neither did the dance – the cannon was stalling as it is less time for him dancing. Man getting caught on camera dropping the helmet – BRILLIANT. He nearly went flying! Anyway, Jive, yes…yes? Entertainment was 100000 out of 10. But it has to be his time to fly out of the competition right?

My score: 5 (entertainment…)

Judges scores = Craig 5, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 7 = 24/40

Chelsee Healey and Pasha Kovalev – Samba

This should really suit her because she is a party animal! SPICE GIRLS. Good lord. Had a CASSETTE of the Spice Girls! Loving Chelsee’s dress although it is missing feathers! Balloon’s are completely irrelevant to the dance. Lots of movement and rhythm – good Samba rolls and very bouncy. Best of the night.

My score: 9

Judges scores =  Craig 8, Len 9, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Jason Donovan and Kristina Rihanoff – Jive

Last. How unusual! But at least this is real dancing. Although, I am not sure what they are wearing – hideous. Loving the kicks and flicks – very strong and Jason almost looks professional to me. Brilliant routine. Love her choreography. Gutted that he lost his way though.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 8, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 34/40


And that’s a wrap! Woop! I enjoyed the show but think Wembley was a little too big to host the show really – it all seemed a little too show-offy and stand-offish.

One needs to go…and it is up to the public to decide. But we won’t get that until tomorrow night. So I shall see you then.

Thanks!

Natasha x

Posted on November 19, 2011, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great roundup I agree with everything you say! I feel like everyone is crap apart from Chelsee!

    Like

  2. Another great blog (as always). I did think that this week the show looked and felt quite spectacular. Normally the themed nights always look a bit forced but this worked well for me apart from one thing… the sound mix was awful!! After 10 minutes of the tinny echoing I had a headache and was praying for the dreadfully unfunny VT inserts to give me some relief!!

    In terms of the dancing, i think more than any other season of SCD, there is no clear and obvious favourite. The remaining dancers all could win (even Russell who has captured the anti-dancing vote perfectly – not as dour as Sargeant, not as un-likeable as Widdy, he has a reasonable fanbase). Chelsee is a good dancer, Alex is making a strong charge, Harry is good looking and rarely messes up and Jason is possessed of an insane desire to win. Add to the mix the popularity of Robbie and Anita and you have the most open SCD in years!

    Like

  3. Well done Natasha witty as always

    Like

  4. Well done! You do rant a bit :p
    For me the 2 BEST jive songs were used: I’m still standing and Wake me up before you go go. I just didn’t understand why Aliona thought I’m still standing could be a salsa. For me, personally, this week I was ready to see Alex and James go. As you may know, James is getting on my wick! (If that’s how it’s spelt!) – I could see his smug face when Anita got those low scores when Anita is trying so hard. I wish Chelsee had got at least one ten; she is my favourite currently – I love her partnership with Pasha. Also, can I say as a male viewer if I’m watching with my family or whatever it’s VERY awkward when there are all these topless men and gay innuendos! Those jokes and features are only aimed at women and what SCD has mainly become! You know why are there never any jokes about women fancying each other? Sorry if that appears to be sexist! Do you understand what I mean Natasha?

    Like

    • I actually think you have a very very good point there Dominic! I totally agree and even as a straight female I find it awkward watching them all prancing about buttonless and also Bruno swooning over them. Even Alesha and her ovaries!

      For me, the show didn’t work because the camera work was shoddy as expected because the venue is too big. And it is too closely associated with tours and concerts – somewhere like the RAH would have been more suited.

      Like

  5. Having been there man it took ages to record two goes for the opening pro number after brendan nearly dropped natalie. lots of anton wandering around the place fondling himself and strutting – chest sponsored by allied carpets.

    (btw it wasnt at blackpool because of the british national ballroom and latin or closed british depending on what you want to call it championships were on)

    having just watched it on tv it really didnt translate well at all, in fact i felt sick.

    I am glad that i saw The Grant fly live xx

    Like

  1. Pingback: Strictly Come Dancing 2011 – News & Gossip Series 9 Contestants SCD » Wemberley Wemberley Wemberley!!! Strictly Come Dancing round up!

Tell Tasha.

