Strictly Come Dancing – Explosive dancing!

Bang! Hello!

You have me on another bad night. I hate fireworks because I’m scared of them basically – and they are a waste of money to me! They are so expensive for what they are really! But at least the show isn’t themed right? But annoying me about the show tonight is Jennifer Grey! Why couldn’t it be Karen Hardy?! Sad smile Can we please put Jennifer in the corner??? When she pointed out that she would like to be like Alesha tonight I thought ‘great, another pointless addition to the show!’… I am also betting on a dance to ‘Firework’ and a shed load of Dirty Dancing gags and bloody props. And a 10 from Alesha to Harry. We need to hit her over the head with that paddle. But no Nancy! Thankful for small mercies!

I decided to bring my friend back for this week as I am currently blogging whilst home almousyone and eating a pizza. So here he is. (he isn’t on my pizza by the way…he just eats a lot of cheese) Also, he doesn’t like fireworks either. But he likes the Charleston – and so do I. I am eagerly anticipating Chelsee and Anita tonight. And Holly’s jive. Woop! From the look of that VT it seems like we have an underlying theme. *sigh*

TESS LEG UPDATE: Failed. Dress is too tight. She’s wearing wallpaper.

Random titbit: My Batmitzvah was 5 years ago tonight. What a night! Must have missed Strictly then…

Lulu and Brendan Cole – Tango

Somebody has the singers nuts in a vice! Very high indeed! Bloody stairwork! Very good though that they didn’t fall. I have seen Lulu’s dress before! Where? Anyway, tango moves in there obviously and nicely done. Looks like she lost in in the drop there but quickly redeemed. Lovely to see a routine full of WHAT IT SHOULD BE! And mostly in hold, I like. Random ending though. And then Lulu insighting a chat with Jennifer Grey, who I am going to call Jen. As it rhymes with Len and I can’t be bothered to type.

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 5, Jen 8, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Audley Harrison and Natalie Lowe – Viennese Waltz

I love this song – but I think they’ve gone a bridge too far with the props. Traditional VW moves and no faffing about – but they really do look like Beauty and the Beast tonight! Nat is dressed as Belle! It all felt a little laboured to me in parts whilst in others it actually had a little grace about it. And I do love his smiley face every single week.

And did somebody steal Alesha’s hairbrush??? And Jennifer has Pat Butcher’s earrings!

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 5, Jen 8, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Samba

Well, it’s another Stevie Wonder Samba! And these were all songs played at my Batmitzvah too! I’m singing along here. Samba suits him! Harry has the moves in his hips and good footwork and a strangely alluring way about him. I liked it – he really was good. The bounce action was there too. Maybe his best Latin to date??

My score: 9

Judges scores = Craig 8, Jen 9, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 33/40

Ooooh, they’ve stolen the 10 paddles!

Anita Dobson and Robin Windsor – Charleston

This dance is so her. And also so Great Gatsby which brings a chill to my spine because of my English AS last year! Oh god she does look like Daisy Buchanan! Look at her go! I still think the Charleston belongs in the Quarter Finals at the earliest but hey! Great storytelling and musicality. Very fast and furious. Lots of moves in there and challenging choreography. Got a bit lost in places there Anita but the rest was just completely enjoyable.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 7, Jen 8, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

Jason Donovan and Kristina Rihanoff – Rumba

I hate the Rumba as you know. It makes me feel so awkward. But I love this song. And what is with their stupid VTs? Kristina looks beautiful. Jason actually didn’t look that cringeworthy – only a tad. I could kind of get the Chemistry there and the relationship of love but I got a bit fed up watching it – it was a little cold in the middle. Seriously, the Rumba just doesn’t suit anybody.

My score: 6

Judges scores =Craig 6, Jen 8 (did she get something in her throat there?), Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 28/40

Alex Jones and James Jordan – Quickstep

I’m sick of stairs tonight. AHHH THIS SONG – hate it :L. Alex almost looks like she is being thrown around the floor as she starts but she picks up her pace as the dance goes on. Nice footwork but not brilliant and nothing on Rory’s skill and that was much earlier! But still, she is improving and it was a great and lively cracker of a Quickstep. Hmmm…and what was that fall? LOL. Brilliant. Bless.

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 7, Jen 8, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

I am convinced Jen only has one paddle! She talks a lot of rubbish. SHOULD HAVE BEEN KAREN HARDY.

Robbie Savage and Ola Jordan – Waltz

Hmm, Savage and football…no comment from me. He actually hits some decent lines when he’s in Ballroom hold – and he isn’t looking down. Would have liked to have seen a little more rise and fall (even though what was there was good) but it was a nice Waltz to watch. I loved the romance in that! Such a hopeless romantic here. And it was traditional. Lovely.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 6, Jen 8, Alesha 8, Bruno 7 = 29/40

Who is snogging who? What?

Russell Grant and Flavia Cacace – Paso Doble

LOL. IT’S A BULL! Brilliant start but such a timewaster! This is just….I’m speechless. I seriously haven’t any words. It was comedy gold and has officially overtaken Big Bird Ann last year for entertainment. But where was the dancing? The little elements of it were good but Russell isn’t your average matador really! It was a nice attempt I guess…different interpretation of the Paso there. Loved it for the wrong reasons. Truly indescribable.

My score: 5 (dancing…)

Judges scores = Craig 4, Jen 7, Alesha 6, Bruno 7 = 24/40.

Oooh, Jen has found another paddle!

Chelsee Healey and Pasha Kovalev – Charleston

Channelling Jordan from Great Gatsby here! At least she is properly strapped in this week – I really am glad the wardrobe department have been kicked up the arse. The Charleston strikes me as her dance because she is so full of life and vibrant! Loving the theme – brilliant extra for the dance. Her footwork is flawless! Perfect kicks and flicks, nice handwork and her and Pasha just make a superb couple!

Well, that comment was coming. And the first ‘Fab-u-lous’ of the series. Brilliant!

My score: 9

Judges scores = Craig 9, Jen 9, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

Holly Valance and Artem Chigvintsev – Jive

Yay! The jive! And a first for wardrobe I believe! Matching suits and very sneaky not wearing heels for the jive! Is it not a little unfair for her to be doing it in flats? It has to be significantly harder in heels?? Still, brilliant choreography – very unique but still fits in with the jive criteria. Fast and snappy but thankfully Holly is staying in time and dealing with the fact one of her braces snapped half way through very well! Loved it! And Artem did well to keep up because I noticed him limping down the stairs at the start – very professional.

My score: 9

Judges score = Craig 8, Jen 9, Alesha 8, Bruno 9 = 34/40


And that is it! All 10 of our couples have danced their little tootsies off! But now we have half an hour to decided which one will be blasting out of the competition!

I’ll see you back here tomorrow for the results show!

Thanks for reading, as always. Feel free to leave me a little note! In fact, please do!

Natasha x

Posted on November 5, 2011, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Robin Palmer Hosking

    What a pity about Jennifer Grey. I sort of feel let down, but that tends to be the case with crushes.

    So glad Chelsee and Pasha had a great week. They’ve got my vote tonight, well, if I call in time. This 20 minute window between the end of the live show and when the results show is recorded doesn’t give us much time to vote. xoxo

    Like

  2. Thoroughly enjoyed your blog again

    Like

  3. Jennifer Grey was a very disappointing judge, she was just another Alesha really, which is not what the show needs! I’m in agreement with you Nat, Karen should have been there!!
    Loved both the Chalestons tonight, Holly’s Jive was great and I loved Alex’s energy and she has improved brilliantly 🙂
    Disliked Robbie’s Waltz I agreed with Craig, it was pretty dull, as was Audley’s VW I completely forgot he’d danced at all by the end…too hard to call who’ll leave, only time will tell.
    Great blog again Nat xx

    Like

  4. jennifer Grey was awful on DWTS and awful on this it should have been Karen who, quite frankly, is wasted in that little box on the red button. Grr.

    That was a bit of a meh blah show, nothing really stood out. Harrys samba was blah, jasons rumba blah, everything blah. I have no idea who will go out, i think it may be a shock

    Like

  5. Loved the blog and, as usual, your marks were very similar to mine 🙂 One thing that is starting to grate a little is the little comedy vignettes before the start of every routine – why can’t we just have a training log to see how the celebs have actually warmed (or not) to the dance.

    Chelsee and Russell were standout dances (for very different reasons lol). Poor Jennifer needed time to acclimatise and there simply wasn’t any time for her to do this – so we had a procession of early ‘big’ marks which left her no where to go when the better dancers came on.

    Still, a great show and some great dancing – and choreography 🙂

    Like

  6. Do you not think Jennifer Grey was far too generous? Her highest mark was 9 and her lowest was 7 (1 time). Also whenever she said “8” she said it very strangely! It was like “Uhhrrate”. Anyway good post!

    BUT like last week, you seem to have a problem with “there, their and they’re” – In Anita’s section you said “Got a bit lost in places their Anita” but you meant to say “in places there Anita” :p Sorry!

    Like

  7. oh, I didn’t know 😦

    Like

Tell Tasha.

