Strictly Come Dancing – A spooky spectacular!

Greetings…my friends.

I apologise for a long blog post which stems from my distaste for Halloween and themed Strictly nights. But, hopefully, a high standard of dancing will save the show for me! And I have to admit a little part of me is SO excited for Nancy (who is coincidently pictured below Winking smile) and Anton’s Rumba….stressball to clutch at the ready! I am wearing my retainer for when I have to clench my teeth for cringing and I have a cushion at the ready to shield my eyes if need be! See, I’m trying my best to be enthusiastic here!

blogg halloweenPersonally, I love a good themed party and I love Strictly Come Dancing even more. But the two mixed together is dire – mostly because the BBC always go overboard, back on the ship and overboard again with the portrayal of the theme which distracts from the dancing. And I have extra hate for tonight as I really can’t stand Halloween. Take last year on Halloween, the extended ‘spooky’ VT with the annoying glitterball devils laugh wasn’t really needed now, was it? And it always seems to be an excuse for more props (although there hasn’t really been a leash on them this year anyway!) and I don’t think dances need props – or need to be ‘spooky’ – just dance, goddammit.

Anyway, whilst I pick my toys up and pile them back in my pram and then jump down from my pedestal, let’s go on with the show shall we? Mwahahahaha…..no. I have a feeling my blog is going to be a scream tonight….still no. Moving on…

Group opener

I WANTED MY PRO DANCE *stomps feet*. And this song shall now reside in my head for the whole evening. They all look ridiculous if you ask me. That wasn’t really even a dance. Interesting start I guess. Tone set for the rest of the night…

TESS LEG UPDATE: Not even half way up. But at least she looks nice.

Make-up have done a brilliant job – even though none of it is to my liking but hey. They really have done well. I wonder how much my license fee is going up next year! Oh I have my head in my hands. Craig’s entrance – that was only there because of Widdy’s last year…flying….ugh…*shudder*

Russell Grant and Flavia Cacace – Samba

OH MY WORD. JUST CUT THIS VT CRAP! Let’s dance! I think he is probably first so as then he can sit and rest his poor knee. Wow, Flavia’s outfit! Nice samba movement because, you know, this is a dancing show and all albeit a few mistakes. Again Russell looking like he is having the time of his life  singing along there. Nice shimmying and wiggling haha. Never seen such a camp Samba…

My sc—…OH MY GOD. WHAT IS ALESHA DIXON WEARING?! My score: 5

Judges scores = Craig 4, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 6 = 22/40!

Chelsee Healey and Pasha Kovalev – Tango

And there is the first cauldron of the night. But at least there wasn’t a lot of fussing around – lots of good Tango elements in there. Love the kicks and flicks, love the aggression yet elegance of them moving around the floor. Very strong from here for yet another week! And she’s crying…silly wardrobe malfunctions. See, this is what happens when Strictly is Americanized.. She is so embarrassed bless! I think she handled it brilliantly.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 8, Alesha 9, Bruno 8 = 32/40

Audley Harrison and Natalie Lowe – Jive

The short straw. Oh I hate this song. Actually think Audley is coping with this well given his, forgive me, size. He’s actually got the steps going and a little bit of hip-work going on! Not sure about the piano there – just the pointless prop that has to be there so I can moan. N’aw I liked it although it was riddled with blemishes. But still, good stuff.

My score: 5

Judges scores = Craig 3, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 5 = 20/40

Alex Jones and James Jordan – Paso Doble

Alex has a lovely load of support on twitter it’s really sweet to read. What are they doing? How is this anything to do with dancing? Oh aggression? Right. Just listen to Craig’s comments in future. And she is wearing my net curtains as a cape! I love this song – so much. And it’s Count Dracula. Not seeing much aggression from her. I mean there is a bit but it isn’t brilliantly convincing but her Paso elements were good but I wouldn’t say perfect! Improved on last week though. And another for the song recycling, Sarah Manners and Brendan Cole seven years ago in Series 2!

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 8, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

Holly Valance and Artem Chigvintsev – American Smooth

Tasteful music. Not so sure about the costume! And a big HURRAH for the use of ZERO props! Lovely storytelling and lovely lines. Brilliant use of legal lifts and her posture is great. Not so much in hold but it worked. Best dance so far of the night – and maybe her personal best too. I loved it – it was traditional but yet unique and beautiful.

My score: 9

Judges scores = Craig 8 Len 9, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 35/40

Nancy Dell’Olio and Anton Du Beke – Rumba

KLAXON. 10 SECOND WARNING. She is such a diva she just narks me right off! Oh god what is that outfit?! HIDEOUS. And Anton is a fool leaving her alone so long at the start because she isn’t good in hold let alone solo. I just can’t comment – I genuinely feel sick at what this show has become. It was truly terrible.

GO ON ALESHA! I AGREE! Should have stayed in the coffin. Or one better, at home…or in the bar. Taxi for Nancy.

My score: Bring on the 1!

Judges scores = Craig 2, Len 5, Alesha 3, Bruno 4 = 14/40 …higher than I expected!

Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Tango

Faffing about at the start. Get a’rid of those masks! Brilliant song for a Tango though. Lots of repetitive movements which is a shame because Harry is a really skilled dancer but I don’t feel he is being given a chance to shine. – hardly anything in hold and a lot of chair faffing. Still, he has mastered the footwork and it is full of aggression, he’s got that bit mastered – bring on his Paso.

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 7, Alesha 10, Bruno 9 = 34/40

See, I respected Alesha for the comment to Nancy and Anton…now I have dropped that respect. Pfft. Stop judging on fancying Harry.

Robbie Savage and Ola Jordan – Paso Doble

Do they have to keep mentioned that it is Halloween week? I think I know this one by now. Favourite costumes if I had to choose. Decent cape work which is always good! Crotch action not needed – 10 from Alesha now? Brilliant choreography though and we all know he needs no coaching on the aggression! Biting springs to mind. That end was….OFCOM! Family show. Sorry Ola, not cool. Indecent. The problem is, it was a really good dance but that all spoilt it!

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 4, Len 7, Alesha 8, Bruno 7 = 26/40

Anita Dobson and Robin Windsor – Tango

Straight into hold which is a novel idea for this show. Nice footwork from Anita but her feet need to be slightly closer together. Brilliant story telling with aggression oozing out of Anita and a pretty decent Tango.

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 8, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 31/40

Lulu and Brendan Cole – Paso Doble

Oh bloody hell. Again with the flying. At least it was swift! I actually like the idea of it though – it fits well because it leads her straight to ‘cape’ work. I like the story running through. Limited steps actually in hold and a bit repetitious but I thought it was a decent attempt. Loved the ending, bar the stairs bit, but Lulu’s escape was ace. It was a decent Paso actually.

My score: 6/7

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 7, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 29/40

Jason Donovan and Kristina Rihanoff – Quickstep

Last. Shocker. And I couldn’t be happier. I’m losing patience. When I first heard Bewitched I did think of ‘C’est La Vie’ and those Irish girls! Say you will say you won’t…

No faffing around (apart from the VT) and straight into hold nicely and around the floor. Nice choreography from Kristina once again making a traditional Quickstep but felt over really quickly I actually haven’t a thing to say.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 9, Len 9, Alesha 10, Bruno 9 = 37/40


So, we’re finally at the end. That show was l o n g and a tad infuriating with all that faffing. Some good dancing and some truly awful. But I have a feeling another shock result will come because of the pillocky public! But REALISTICALLY Audley, Nancy and Russell should watch out. TAXI FOR NANCY. Beep Beep.

Anyway, I’ll see you tomorrow night and I really hope you have enjoyed my blog. Tell me your thoughts on the show below! Or do you disagree with something I’ve said? Or agree? Have your say below! And, in the spirit of the theme, you even get your own monster avatar!

Until tomorrow,

Natasha x

 

PS. Blog is now on Facebook! – http://www.facebook.com/tashaontv

Posted on October 29, 2011, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Enjoyed your blog and agreed with just about everything. How can we get the old Strictly back when there was no faffing and lots of dancing. If you think about the dances which Colin Jackson, Zoe Ball, Austin Healey and others did they spent their whole time on the floor dancing in hold and concentrated on technique rather than showmanship

    Like

  2. Evening,

    I hate halloween, i really do. Thus this of all themes is terrible for me but the makeup was good even if some of the boys looked like girls!

    I feel so sorry for Russell, I know how it feels to dance with a torn meniscus and when the pain kicks in its near impossible to samba.

    Oh dear Nancy, and Karen thanks for making comments about what gets Anton up i really do not want to know at all. The sparkly trousers were indecent too much package on show!

    I wasn’t overly impressed by any of them to be honest alot of the routines you couldnt tell what they were.

    I feel sorry for Harry as Aliona really doesnt do his dancing justice.

    Like

  3. The whole theme thing is starting to annoy me, but I did heart most of the costumes/makeup tonight (bar Holly who needs to put some clothes on!) and poor Chelsee with her wardrobe malfuntion 😦
    I agree with your bottom three, but I think Audley may be the one leaving unfortunately…did you notice how Anton wouldn’t let Nancy say a word when they were with Tess? Her face was a picture! Alesha’s comment made me laugh so hard “your legs were too far apart.” paha!!
    Loved Alex & James / Jason & Kristina the best.
    Dislike Alesha for showing her 10 paddle twice tonight grrr!
    I severly hope Nancy leaves tomorrow, I can’t bear her any longer!!
    Great blog again Nat 🙂 xxx

    Like

  4. Great post Natasha! This might be annoying, but I spotted a spelling mistake in it! :p “But at least their wasn’t” in Chelsee and Pasha’s post.

    I think last week’s show was SOO much better. The opening performance was just….. stupid, sorry. Poor Audley, I did feel sorry for him – not the best way to end the week of your birthday :p (Also I did actually like that song)

    Also, Alesha needs to stop giving out 10s so easily – three have been given out in this series so far, all by her. Re: The theme/props – I don’t mind a little prop if it’s a small thing used at the beginning OR end and then not used again. I don’t expect it to be used throughout to set a whole performance/story. If you switched on the TV for one second on BBC 1 you wouldn’t not know that Halloween was a theme. What do you think?

    Also, I know this hasn’t got anything to do with scd, but I found out today that… I’ll be having a half-brother or sister in May!

    Like

    • Hi Dom,

      Thank you very much. And oooh the trouble with reading your own work! Thank you for that!

      Unless you managed to catch the VT’s because they managed to mention the stupid theme in every single one, then no it just seemed a bit spooky and silly! Maybe you would guess if you knew the date though 😛

      And Mazel Tov!

      Like

  5. Robin Palmer Hosking

    Did you hear that cab driver? I didn’t either, he was picking up someone else… anyway…

    I WILL, at some point soon, watch ALL the dances completely during a show this series. As I haven’t, this again is the best place for a round up.

    Interestingly (sorry this is a brief comment), my parents, who watched it with me, said they thought the props and gimmicks were ridiculous… I agree!

    Why do so few of this year’s couples have genuine rapport by the way? Hmm….

    Like

  6. Got to agree with the idea of over-egging the whole theme: at first I was all ‘yay!!! Awesome!!!’, but by the end it was just cringeworthy. Why so many theme weeks as well? Two already, more to come? *shudder*

    Also, Alesha needs to have than 10 paddle confiscated until at the very least the semi-finals or else she will be giving everyone 11 by the end of the series.

    Like

  7. Do not get me started on Len. >.<

    He is far too inconsistent with his comments and marking, and seems to think he can get away with it because he's 'the only one from the Ballroom world'. -_-

    Like

  8. very good submit, i certainly love this web site, keep on it

    Like

  1. Pingback: Strictly Come Dancing Results – The nail in the coffin.. « tashaontv

Tell Tasha.

