Strictly Come Dancing – Dancing Dozens

Hello again guys!

I’m here again. So are you. Perfecto! Another long but exciting show for us tonight as 12 couples perform 11 dances (reckon Nancy’s can’t possibly make up a dance so Jason must do the same dance to save it!) and battle for a place in next weeks show (ew, Halloween = theme = gah, we know how I feel about them!). Been monitoring twitter a lot this week and seeing the outrage about the amount of song recycling this year…is it annoying you? Tell me! Also, I noticed the outcry surrounding last weeks result – are you pro dance-off? Vote here! 

OH MY DEAR LORD. TESS’S LEG IS….BENT. Badly. And that dress. Oh dear lord again.

I don’t like the look of any of those costumes. Somebody has been around TVC this morning chucking paint on clothes and cutting off random snippets. Where’s that anti-Capitalism protest at?

Jason Donovan and Kristina Rihanoff – Paso Doble

So am I right in thinking Nancy will be last because she is the other Paso? No doubt that he’s going to be the perfect matador because he seems to be perfect at everything. Want to see Kristina get dragged around like potatoes but I am safely ruling that out of the routine! Jason hitting nice lines as per and the aggression is pouring out of him but yet he looks…unstable? I think it was his least impressive routine yet though – but still good and a cracking start.

My score: 6

And there is a dead pink Parrot on Alesha’s shoulder.

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 7, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Alex Jones and James Jordan – Rumba

I don’t actually like the rumba because 9 times out of 10 it makes me cringe and I normally feel very uncomfortable watching it. And I do not like that Catsuit at all. But she is very pretty. Very technical choreography in there! James took a massive risk with some of that but it paid off and it was a pretty good performance – loved the comeback of the James/Cherie move! Actually felt a connection with them which hampered my cringing but it was still there because Alex just looked like she wanted it to be over all the way through.

My score: 6

My judges = Craig 4, Len 7, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 25/40

Rory Bremner and Erin Boag – Cha Cha Cha

Come on Rory the Lion! Very brave starting Rory on his own there…lucky he didn’t do a runner after the impression I got from that VT! Love his dainty footwork and the, limited, hip action but he looks ridiculously out of his comfort zone – what is going on tonight?! Bit stompy towards the end but it could have gone a lot worse. And I love his facial expressions.

My scores: 5

Judges scores = Craig 4, Len 7, Alesha 6, Bruno 7 = 24/40

Audley Harrison and Natalie Lowe – Foxtrot

Did you know Audley has SIZE 17 feet? They haven’t really mentioned it on ITT….*grumble* Let’s up he doesn’t trip over them again this week! Although, I didn’t even notice that last week until it was pointed out to me! Audley is very stiff dancing but yet he has some decent lines although sometimes he did kind of look like a shuffling penguin but, whatever, he is coming on in leaps and bounds and I liked it. And wardrobe malfunction of the week!

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 7, Alesha 6, Bruno 6 = 25/40

Nancy Dell’Olio and Anton Du Beke – Paso Doble

Oh well I guess I was wrong – brace yourselves! I like her dress actually! She’s counting! Bless her! But this is proper Paso music at least! Ah dear, Nancy has lost her footing tremendously – is she wearing trampoline shoes? Or is Tigger in the room? Hehe, love the little spin/throw in the air there! So glad she landed relatively okay though because I didn’t fancy the first contestant to die by plummeting onto the floor. Not sure what to make of it – her only movement was when she was thrown around! Best so far…but not great. At all.

My score: 4

Judges scores = Craig 3, Len 5, Alesha 5, Bruno 5 = 18/40

Lulu and Brendan Cole – Samba

Uh oh. Stevie Wonder Samba. Let’s hope it goes better than Jo’s in Series 7. I love watching Brendan samba – he has ridiculously lovely hip action. Think Lulu has gone back to Week 1…either that or she was doing the can-can there at the start? And what are we doing up the stairs? But she is so bouncy and so sparky that this dance – strangely – really suits her! But not the best Latin.

My score: 6

Oh god James, SHUT UP! I used to love James to the point of having a crush but now, well I don’t dislike him but I am far from enamoured right now.

Judges scores = Craig 5, Len 6, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 25/40

Holly Valance and Artem Chigvintsev – Viennese Waltz

Argh, lampposts are just not needed. Right now, it looks like it is a bit in the way. Come together and dance. Thank you. I don’t get why Artem made her waste about a minute dancing with a stationary lamppost – she is brilliant and beautiful in hold so what is the point? It just irritates the already irritated judges and annoys twitter. Beautiful dance though – very graceful and cute. But down with the props!

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 7, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 30/40

Chelsee Healey and Pasha Kovalev – Quickstep

I have to mute her or subtitle her. And a nice Waterloo Road spoiler there. Ah this song again! I love it as QS music though! Awesome footwork and rapid enough the keep up with the dance itself and she’s in time and…poppy! Random end rubbish with the ticket but hey I loved it. Maybe the dance of the series so far! Totally dance of the night at least at this point! She always manages to pull it off! Good on you girl!

My score: 9

Judges scores = Craig 9, Len 9, Alesha 9, Bruno 9 = 36/40

Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Waltz

*rifles through the song recycle bin* Found it! Gah, originality! Fluid, graceful, elegant and felt like it was over in a split second. Or maybe I just zoned out after he and Aliona decided to whisper on the stairs. I hate this stair business – I disagree that it added to the story and I disliked it because Harry is an amazing dancer and he could have just gone around in a few more circles to get that first 10 of the series but then he lost it a bit. And I need a guidebook of dance terms.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 8, Alesha 10, Bruno 9 = 35/40.

10?!?! WHAT?!?!?!?! Is that Alesha making up for half offending Aliona with the ‘Harry doesn’t do the choreography’ comment?! Not deserved in my books!

Anita Dobson and Robin Windsor – American Smooth

Random note here but my bottom has gone numb from all this sitting, watching and blogging! Somebody has been at the recycle bin again. Very lovely lines from Anita! Perfect choreography from Robin and Anita is a very strong dancer – turning out as a real surprise this series and she is performing so well each week. Classy performance.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 8, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 32/40

Robbie Savage and Ola Jordan – Jive

The cheerleaders! I notice he doesn’t have that Jedward-esque thing from the week! LOVE Robbie’s kicks and flicks! He looks positively manic though! A bit all over the place and almost borderline hyper. Yet I was smiling the whole way through even though it was a little stompy and messy in places but so what? Enjoyment is what it is [half] about! He is a ballroom man for sure though!

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 5, Len 8, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40

Russell Grant and Flavia Cacace – Tango

Last but not least – thankfully, these shows are too long in my opinion. Aha, I love this song. Hand placement please Russell! Why are they in aqua and lilac? Oh the characterisation and facial expressions from Russell are in a league of their own – such a showman! Awh it’s a teddy bear! Nice story actually – all a dream. Ahh! I get it! Brilliant Flavia! She is a little genius!

My score: 5/6 but 10 for entertainment/Russell being Russell

Judges scores = Craig 5, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 7 = 24/40


So that’s it! Hold up, I missed that – what’s so funny? Anyway, that’s tonight over and later tonight (can’t fool us) another couple will disappear from the competition but who will that be?! I know who I want it to be! But we will properly find out tomorrow night in the results show! And I believe we get a professional dance as well then so don’t miss!

Until then,

Natasha x

Posted on October 22, 2011, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hello,

    Oh deary me, what a strange night. Lens walnuts have obviously gone off and when he gets a grump the programme becaomes unwatchable sadly.

    I appreciate what james said to a point BUT the whole point of judging on strictly and in normal competitions is based on peoples likes and dislikes of the choreography, he knows this so why make such a fuss and then keep going on about it? Plus that catsuit was terrible

    What was with Lulu? we went stright back to week one although I loved Brendan’s shirt.

    yes we all know how big Audleys feet are and rory looks weird shimmying if thats even a word.

    Chelsee would be good if i could understand what said, Anita was good but looked terrified.

    Russell really is Mr Strictly!

    Nancy Delusional needs to go now, please.

    Aliona’s choreography let Harry down, as did Artems lamposts what was that about? completely pointless.

    id like to say taxi for Nancy but i doubt out sadly,

    As for the red button Darling Karen i love you to bits but can you give us commentary on all coupled robbie and harry discended into a gushy smut fest.

    Oh and Marilyn Manson phoned could you tell Tess he’d like his bedroom curtains back please

    xx

    Like

  2. Always love reading your blog 🙂 This week I did enjoy the mixture of latin and ballroom rather than the need for “themed” nights – perhaps they can go the whole way and get rid of the props for good. A special mention for Chelsee who I previously couldn’t engage with (not watching Waterloo Rd). This week she charmed me with a lovely quickstep. I am, however, totally biased in favour of Russell and he is really lighting this season up. Nancy in the firing line this week? But also I wonder if Rory has the fan base to keep him in much longer!

    Like

  3. I was pretty disappointed by Jason’s Paso tonight, it lacked attack and his arms weren’t strong enough I thought 😦
    I loved Chelsee and Pasha though! I too was unamused by the random use of the stairs all of a sudden. And Harry’s 10, I was insanely livid about, Alesha needs to stop judging people by how much she fancies them!
    Worried about Alex and James this week but I’ve had enough of Nancy and Anton, again!!
    Great blog as usual Nat 🙂 xxx

    Like

  4. Robin Palmer Hosking

    Having been unable to give tonight’s episode my full attention, this round up and running commentary has gotten me up to speed. Once again, a very good narrative of what looked like a bit of a blah show, except a few of the contestants.

    Pity about James’ attitude, and well, Alesha giving a 10? Jeez woman… don’t let those ovaries control those paddles!

    Like

Tell Tasha.

