Strictly Come Dancing Week 2 – 120 golden minutes

Hello guys and gals!

So, what is today? Well apart from it being a holy day for myself which means I have fasted 24 hours as I start my blog and 26 hours by the end (yes, I’m hungry!) it is also the FIRST TIME OUR 14 COUPLES WILL BE DANCING IN ONE NIGHT! (yes more exciting than my stomach, correct?) but sadly that also means that we must say goodbye to one of our couples tonight! But that couple won’t be revealed until the results show at 7.25pm tomorrow night!

I must admit, I am a little anxious about how 2 hours of Strictly will go down – it’s a lot of time for the same thing – no matter how much we all love it – and I fear a lot of padding and procrastination ahead.

So I apologise now for the length of this blog and I really do hope that I don’t bore you too much! In fact, I hope I don’t bore myse-….zzzzzz….

TESS LEG UPDATE: It’s straight! Again! Blimey!

I’ll stop talking now. Dancing, please.

Chelsee Healey and Pasha Kovalev – Salsa

I have high hopes for this because it actually looked very good yesterday on It Takes Two plus we can see Chelsee is trying so hard and has potential. But what is with those trousers? Seriously? Half mermaid half dancer? Look at those hips go! She’s got something you know, I’m really excited by her! Lots of tricky twists and turns in there – brave choreography from Pasha! But she pulled it off – it was fast, funky, sexy and put a smile on my face. Cracking.

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 7, Alesha 8, Bruno 7 = 29/40!

Edwina Currie and Vincent Simone – Foxtrot

She is really annoying me – and we are only on her second appearance. Oh, props. Strike 1. Do some dancing and get off your backside. Better. But just not a lot of moving around the floor fluidly?? Oh now that’s better they CAN move. All felt a bit…showy. I didn’t like it? They just…I can’t feel them as a couple! I can’t see that partnership! I can’t see her developing as a dancer. Sorry Eggs, but we have a major problem (yes, every week I will…)

My score: 3

Judges score = Craig 4, Len 5, Alesha 5, Bruno 5 = 19/40!

Slightly off-topic but is anybody else REALLY cold?!

Audley Harrison and Natalie Lowe – Salsa

Beauty and the beast instalment for the week. Aw no, I like him – he’s trying really hard! He’s not actually half bad you know! He can move, he’s MOVING. As far as I can see he is in time as well which is a bonus but sometimes it was a bit laboured and lacked cohesion. But it wasn’t bad – I’ve seen worse and with Nancy to come, I fear the worst is yet to come!

My score: 5

Judges scores = Craig 5, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 6 = 23/40!

Hungry

Alex Jones and James Jordan – Foxtrot

I really love the partnership here – howling with laughter at the VT! Eek, it’s a pink thing and sitting on Prescott – nice one. Fluid and elegant moving around the floor which means Tasha is comfortable watching it – not something I can always say. Her turns, as well, were good as she didn’t fall out of them like some celebrities tend to do. Finishing on Bruno’s lap though – really? Ballroom suits her though. I’d like to see more.

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 8, Alesha 7, Bruno 8 = 29/40!

Dan Lobb and Katya Virshilas – Salsa

Return of the gymnastics! Lovely start but thank goodness he didn’t hurt himself. And yes I did hold my breath in the lift! He looks strained in some places – just look at his facial expressions. However, he has good hip action for Week 2 and Dan looks very sexy. Worked with the dance well but I don’t think Salsa is for him but, alas, I have a smile on my face and I did enjoy watching it!

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 4, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 5 = 21/40!

Lulu and Brendan Cole – Foxtrot

Hopefully not so much car crash this week. Why the mirror? Makes for a slow and fussy start! Meh, I hate props! Think we do have a little height issue here – but they are dealing with it well. I always love Brendan’s choreography because he always makes it so that it brings out the best in his partner. Lots of gliding around the floor and not too full of twists and turns which makes for an excellent dance as Lulu can relax more and not feet watch. I liked it.

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 5, Len 6, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 25/40!

Holly Valance and Artem Chigvintsev – Salsa

Why is she doing another Latin dance? I thought the art was to see her doing a Ballroom and Latin before voting? Anyhow, Salsa is totally her – brilliant hip action and she has that sexy, firey side about her that we so need to see during the Salsa. And does Artem not get a shirt with buttons on this series?

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 7, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 30/40!

Rory Bremner and Erin Boag – Salsa

Now thrown about the running order but yeah! Wow Erin looks hot! Look at Rory go – that man can move! Just look at those hips go Winking smile and the shimmy! We love a good shimmier! Nice footwork – the box/backwards/no idea what they are called steps carried out well! Not too much throwing Erin around and a lovely little ending!

My score: 5

Judges scores = Craig 4, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 6 = 22/40!

I CAN EAT!!! PARTY!

Robbie Savage and Ola Jordan – Foxtrot

Back in some sort of order now I hope! I love this song! Think that umbrella needs to go – NO DON’T PUT IT UP! BAD LUCK! Look at that posture! It’s straight!  His movement around the floor was beautiful – and was that a smile? YES IT WAS. Certain improvement on that Latin of his – Ballroom boy? Yes.

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 8, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 29/40!

Anita Dobson and Robin Windsor – Salsa

She looks silly. I’m sorry, but she does. Loving the little podium start haha. Shake it Anita! She really is having the time of her life isn’t she? Okay technically flawed in parts but just such a fun and enjoyable dance to watch! Wasn’t sure about the carrying lift at the end but it just made me laugh. There is something about Anita that just makes me love watching her and I am gagging to see more! Ay ay ay I can drink now – get me a fruit cocktail!

My scores: 7

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 7, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 28/40!

Jason Donovan and Kristina Rihanoff – Foxtrot

See in this instance, props are enhancing the dance. I still dislike them though. Jason has the rise and fall down to perfection . Great posture as well and elegant footwork. Loved the ending – little storytelling there! Brilliant but I don’t have too much to say…

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 8, Alesha 9, Bruno 8 = 33/40!

Nancy Dell’Olio and Anton Du Beke – Salsa

I am anxious for this. I have previously written her off. What a hell of a start….NO COMMENT. Didn’t need that view of Nancy’s underwear either. This is all a bit drunk wedding dancing. Neither of them can move their hips which is a tad awkward and Anton is flinging Nancy around the floor. Rather uncomfortable now. And I think Nancy nearly popped out their and nearly claimed wardrobe malfunction number 2!

My score: 3

Judges scores = Craig 3, Len 5, Alesha 2, Bruno 4 = 14/40! (wow, Alesha! Claws in please!)

Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Foxtrot….or Swantrot

Such a cute start! Twists and twirls into the hold; a hold which is pretty good by the way! Harry can move which is good – he has avoided looking like a plank of wood but yet he isn’t all over the place. Although, he does need to work on not looking down so much. Another standing ovation for him. But I never really have anything to say regarding foxtrots – they seem too short!

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 6, Alesha 8, Bruno 7 = 27/40!

Russell Grant and Flavia Cacace – Salsa

Another double latin! Ugh! Oh but I love Russell – he is such a good laugh. And I mentioned his twitter last week but I will again – @THERussellGrant get following and get talking to him. WHAT A SONG! Camp alert! Look at those hips go baby! Such a showman! He’s actually dancing though – which makes him one up from Widdy and Currie face. His confidence just oozes out and I can’t help but laugh, seat rave and smile through his dance! Bit of a boa issue again though – what is it with those things?

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 7 = 25/40!

And that wraps up tonight! All of them have given it them all! And we have a confusing points system – don’t ask me to explain it please!

My prediction for the axe: Nancy Dell’Olio! Comment below and let me know who YOU think will be trotting out of the competition first”!

But join me tomorrow for the results show to see if we are right!

Natasha x

Posted on October 8, 2011, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Lovely, captured that nicely, well done Tasha

    For anyone watching on the red button i really loved the fact that the wonderful Pamela Stephenson was with the gorgeous Karen Hardy tonight. Was nice to see that Pam really misses dancing with James.

    For the dancing please, please lets see the back of Nancy! as Karen said dancing is a great leveller – no matter how famous you are or in her case, you think you are, she is terrible. Lulu improved from last week i was hoping Nancy would tak eit more seriously but no, more excuses. I have a knee injury but i still give my dancing my all.

    I adore Russell because he really is trying and living and embracing strictly, including all the fans on twitter

    xx

    Like

  2. My prediction on who’s leaving first is also Nancy and Anton, two horrendous dances, who can possibly vote for that?! She also insanely irritates me, she needs to go!
    I did heart Anita, Alex, Chelsee and Rory this week though, so my fingers are crossed for them 🙂 xx

    Like

  3. agree with regards to who’s going out tonight! love your comments about alex & robbie…totally agree with them 🙂 Also think Dan & Rory did a great job tonight…laughed all the way through russell & flavia too!

    Awesome blog Tasha 🙂 xxx

    Like

  4. Robin Palmer Hosking

    An excellent summary as always! Not going to be popular with this comment (and I’m likely to bore everyone with it) but I really am not a Jason Donovan fan in this show. I like the guy and he’s talented, but with all that stage training, it puts most of the others at a disadvantage.

    Alesha, whilst I like looking at her, I don’t like listening to her. Even Bruce was funnier and Tess, other than consistently mispronouncing Ola’s name, wasn’t completely offensive.

    The ladies I fancy in the show looked and danced very nicely, but I am a biased bastard. I only wish Katya had a better partner (I should be a fan since he’s a tennis coach…)

    Surprise of the night was Chelsee (I hate names which aren’t spelled correctly) who I think could go far if she nails the ballroom dances.

    Sadly I think Anton, whilst being a dapper chap in the ballroom dances, looks really silly in the latin numbers these days and poor Nancy just binned their dance.

    Hate myself quite a lot for enjoying Robbie and Ola, though I shall be calling them ZoLa from now on (He is actually Zoe Lucker…)

    Anyway, Tash, go eat!!! Thank for the blog! xoxo

    Like

  5. Lovely blog post, really agree with most of it!

    I find it quite worrying that I found Anton to actually be more clumsy in the salsa than Nancy, and I’m quite warming to her for some reason!

    I found it LUDICROUS that Craig and Len only gave Harry a 6, then gave the same to Russell! They’re not even in the same league!

    And Alesha, NINES!? In week TWO!? Crazy lady.

    IU’m freexing also, and glad you can eat again! Yay!

    Len really needs to get over his pathetic apparent hatred for certain pro’s!! (Aliona/Brendan!) Nasty man. He and Bruce NEED to go! Can we vote them out?

    I wish people would stop booing Craig for CONSTRUCTIVE criticism.

    That’s enough of my Strictly rants, I really love your blog!

    Oh, and I love Rory ❤ Find him so funny!

    Like

  6. Thank you for the lovely comments guys!

    I find it interesting that we all either agree completely or disagree tremendously!

    Like

  7. Hi Tasha Thank you for your blog. I’m not feeling too good and couldn’t really enjoy/take in/pull apart Strictly this week but your blog has clarified a few bits where I thought perhaps I was hallucinating!!!
    Had a giggle at your comment regarding claws! 😉
    I am still loving Chelsee … the music just seems to flow through her.
    Haven’t seen results show but know who’s gone…. Yay!!!!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Strictly Come Dancing Results – First for the chop! « tashaontv

  2. Pingback: Week 3 News Round-Up | Aliona Vilani Online

Tell Tasha.

