Strictly Come Dancing Week 1 – Our second sparkly helping!

Hello again guys!

Lovely that you are reading my blog once again. I’m on my new toy tonight – Windows Live Writer. It’s pretty cool and easier than my WordPress dashboard (sorry WP bods!) but it tends to shout at me a lot because it doesn’t recognize any of the spellings of the dancers names! I am off to a party later so I am in my evening wear blogging at it got to 17:45 and I still had to eat…WOW that was hectic! Anyway, I’m here!

So, after last nights fantastic start (in most couples cases!), tonight we have until 7.05pm to cast our initial judgement on the remaining 7 celebrities. To dance tonight are Edwina Currie (!), Nancy Dell’Olio (!!), Alex Jones, Harry Judd, Rory Bremner, Chelsee Healey (and Pasha is also on trial tonight as the baby!) and Jason Donovan. I am so excited to see Nancy for some reason…am I glutton for punishment?

LET’S KICK IT OFF!

Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Cha Cha Cha

I have my suspicious about Harry – his army behind him are mental; so he could be awful but still sail through. Got to give him a chance though and, to be fair, he was pretty good on Children In Need with Ola!

See, you can see it! His footwork is gorgeous and his hips are moving very well for a first (well second?) Latin! He is in time with Aliona as well – something rare in Latin debuts! He is a natural at Latin it seems. Such a great start to the show!

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 7, Alesha 8, Bruno 7 = 28/40!

Rory Bremner and Erin Boag – Waltz

This guy is a LEGEND! Did you guys catch him on the One Show the other night? His impressions are brilliant! I was actually expecting worse if I am honest. I expected walking with arms out whilst Erin danced. But that isn’t what we got! I actually thought he moved around the floor with some elegance – and is he leading? I think he is! Sometimes his leg resembled wood and the end drag was a little rigid but I enjoyed it! He has potential! (I keep using that word!)

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 6, Len 7, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40!

Alex Jones and James Jordan – Cha Cha Cha

Aw, it seems like they have a brilliant relationship already! I have high hopes for this – people who start alone normally fair well! The girl has rhythm! And that musicality (first use of many no doubts) is in her hips as well…but she needs to close her feet a little and keep her confidence throughout. But a strong debut – I look forward to seeing more!

And yes Al, we saw that no-footed move Winking smile

My score: 5

Judges scores = Craig 4, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 6 = 22/40!

Chelsee Healey and Pasha Kovalev – Waltz

This is a double debut. I am looking forward to seeing Pasha in his dancing – he looked very promising. Chelsee wins the boob tape award for this year though. I really dislike her hair, she clearly annoyed her stylist this afternoon. Nearly fell out of that first turn and over girl, never mind; carry on. Pasha is leading her beautiful and she hit some lovely lines whilst looking elegant and full of grace. Just balance work! Beautiful!

My score: 7/8 (I can’t decide…)

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 6, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 27/40!

Edwina Currie and Vincent Simone – Cha Cha Cha

Oh god, here we go. The resident stumbling politician. ‘How do you like your eggs in the morning?’ would have been a good song choice – has to be! Hmm, if she has the luck Ann did it will be a major problem (had to!) What was that move when Vincent crawled through her legs? DANCE WOMAN! Not just walk about flinging your hips! And Vincent is throwing her about, Edwina nicks Anton’s signature move from last year and it is just all around very shoddy. She had confidence though. And that move at the end! PRE-WATERSHED LADY! WE DON’T WANT TO SEE THAT!

My score: 2

Judges scores = Craig 2, Len 5, Alesha 5, Bruno 5 = 17/40!

Nancy Dell’Olio and Anton Du Beke – Waltz

Oh hello pointless prop! I hate these props already – pack them back off over the pond! Storytelling at first taking up vital time there Anton. And a complete dress fail! What is going on there? Should it be like that? If so the costume department need to step up! The first wardrobe malfunction – 10 times worse that Artem and his braces! I wasn’t captured by that really – it really wasn’t that enjoyable; but maybe that is because I felt sorry for her. She did keep in time though (in that tiny bit that was actually dancing!); although it just all went wrong.

Cue the ‘disastarrrrrr darling’

My score: 2

Judges scores = Craig 1, Len 4, Alesha 3, Bruno 4 = 12/40

Jason Donovan and Kristina Rihanoff – Cha Cha Cha

Jason is really determined to do well but let’s see how he fairs tonight! Strong start on the stairs and solo…then yet more solo dancing with flowing hip action and also in time with Kristina opposite him! This totally looks beyond week 1! How many hours has he been training?! Not one visible stumble – which is amazing considering how much complicated footwork was in that routine; and also the backwards bit! Take a bow my son!

My score: 8

Judges scores = Craig 8, Len 8, Alesha 8, Bruno 8 = 32/40!

Round it up!

Latin dance of the weekend = Jason and Kristina

Ballroom dance of the weekend = Anita and Robin

Leave a comment below and tell me your favourite Ballroom and Latin of the weekend!

Remember, nobody is eliminated from this weekend so I shall see you next week where all 14 couples will dance in a 2 hour show!

Until then, KEEP BLOGGING!

Natasha x

Posted on October 1, 2011, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great blog again 🙂 I agree with your choice of latin and ballroom dance. I also think special mention to Russell for just being fabulous fun 🙂 I think Chelsee could really make progress when doing the latin but for once I don’t see an obvious winner – its going to be fascinating 🙂

    Like

  2. Good summary Think this series is going to be an interesting one! Really enjoyed sharing Kristinas joy at finally having a partner who can m o v e. 😉

    Like

  3. Agree with you on Jason & Kristina but whilst i really enjoyed Robin & Anita’s waltz I think Chelsee & Pasha just pipped them.

    Like

  4. Hey Tash, nice blog!:) as a fellow Strictly nut I’ll be sure to check out your blog again and tweet links!:) I’ll be blogging too when do the backstage bits for the series but this weekend was so crazy… I’ll send you a link over for your verdict!
    It’s going to be an amaaaaazing ( in the words of old Craig!:) series and I too am unable to pick a clear fave! Love them all

    Keeeeeep writing!;) x Nikki

    Like

Tell Tasha.

