Strictly Come Dancing Week 1 – And it’s back!

Hello! *bounces*

IT’S HERE! IT’S FINALLY HERE! It’s the first live show of Series 9 of Strictly Come Dancing! It’s a Friday, I know, and don’t get use to this 9pm slot but for today and December 9th this is our home. Also, for digital viewers, Karen Hardy and Katy Brand are offering their Strictly Come Commentary on the Red Button feature.

Tonight Holly Valance, Dan Lobb, Audley Harrison, Russell Grant, Robbie Savage, Lulu and Anita Dobson will dance either a Cha Cha Cha or a Waltz and show us what they are made of. Then, tomorrow at 6pm the remaining 7 couples will dance for us in this elimination free weekend.

BREAKING: TESS DALY MANAGED TO GET HER LEG STRAIGHT!

The couples coming down the stairs look brilliant don’t they? Some elegant dresses and sexy Latin outfits about! Bless the celebrities looking so nervous that they could tumble any second! I’m looking forward to those first dances; see their stuff. Judge whether we are going to give them a chance. The training videos all looked brilliant – it is going to be a weird and wonderful series of surprises!

Annual issues: Alan Dedicoat can’t pronounce ‘Virshilas’ correctly and Tess Daly cannot say ‘Ola’

All very exciting isn’t it? Let’s get cracking.

Holly Valance and Artem Chigvintsev – Cha Cha Cha

I’ve seen that costume somewhere. I’m sure. I’ll get back to you on where though. Think Artem is slightly ahead of her but Holly’s still go the sequencing right. Good hipwork and footwork for her first dance anyway! Very repetitive routine though, or is that just me? Lovely straight leg at the end as well – something Tess rarely achieves!

My score: 7

Judges scores: Craig 6, Len 7, Alesha 8 (hmm…first week? First dance?!), Bruno 7 = 28/40!

Side note: WHERE HAS CRAIG’S HAIR GONE?! He looks silly like that! And Bruno’s up, already (from his chair I mean!)

Dan Lobb and Katya Virshilas – Waltz

Oh come on Danny boy, please be good. Argh prop! Lovely outfits – colour just suits the dance. Dan looks a little stiff…well, very stiff actually. But it is only the first week. You can really see on Dan’s face that he wants to do this – I think he is going to be great. In places he was so elegant like this was more than week 1! It was a brilliant first dance! So, some minor issues, but it will be fixed. You can see it.

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 4, Len 7, Alesha 7, Bruno 6 = 24/30!

Lulu and Brendan Cole – Cha Cha Cha

I love these two already – ever since the announcement they have been making me giggle in everything that they do! Lulu has moves man! She has the hips down with it already…just from side to side and not round and round! But doesn’t she look happy? She is having the time of her life! Yes, she keeps looking down at her feet as if she doesn’t trust them to move but she needs to actually train them and not look at them! Not the best start – it could have gone better but she is a bundle of fun and she is going to be a credit to the series. Is it too early to nominate her for ‘the journey’?

My score: 4

Judges scores = Craig 2, Len 5, Alesha 5, Bruno 5 = 17/40!

Audley Harrison and Natalie Lowe – Waltz

Size 17? Wowza! Wouldn’t like him to step on my feet…Anyway dance, actually rather elegant most of the way through! Baring in mind that this is only Week 1, I thought he had the posture and the lines done well for a first time – and in 3 days training! Hands, not so much but we shall get there. Always somebody every year! Not a problem right now! It reminded me of the dance scene from Beauty and the Beast – PURELY for size and presentation!

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 3, Len 5, Alesha 6, Bruno 6 = 20/40!

Robbie Savage and Ola Jordan – Cha Cha Cha

Brilliant song for Robbie really, I’ll keep my views to myself; try and keep football out of this! Oh and happy birthday Ola! He has no rhythm right now. Little hip action and shaky footwork – I mean, I know he has potential but he stood there and didn’t do much. I just don’t have anything to say. My second nomination for the J-word.

My score: 4

Judges scores = Craig 2, Len 6, Alesha 6, Bruno 5 = 19/40!

Anita Dobson and Robin Windsor – Waltz

Even Wossy could say Robin’s name – random I know! Another play for this song! I do love it though! Aw Anita looks so graceful – I think she is going to be the Cherie Lunghi of this series! It was actually very professional for week 1! She got her steps right and had good posture – a brilliant first dance!

My score: 7

Judges scores = Craig 7, Len 7, Alesha 7, Bruno 7 = 28/40! (Wow!)

Russell Grant and Flavia Cacace – Cha Cha Cha

Russell has been the biggest laugh on Twitter – he really has! Replying to all his fans and making us laugh a lot! You know, he wasn’t actually bad in the training video! Just, why has somebody dropped Flavia in paint? The hair! Aw look at him! He looks like a kid of Christmas! Really putting all his effort into it and you can really see that! Poor Russ looks exhausted actually! Technically not the best but he actually stayed in time and performed the right moves with enthusiasm. You know, not half bad for a first try. I love what Flavia did with the choreography – so camp, so BRILLIANT!

My score: 6

Judges scores = Craig 4, Len 5, Alesha 6, Bruno 6 = 21/40!

And that’s it! Our first live show is done! And what a show it was! I can’t wait for tomorrow now!

Comment and tell me what you thought!

See you tomorrow,

Natasha x

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Strictly Come Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Robin Palmer Hosking

    Honestly not the best start to the show I’ve ever seen, but, IT’S BACK!!!! At long last…. It’s on a par waiting for Queen’s tennis to start again. Holly had the dance of the night for me.

    Like

  2. Always love to read your blog – totally agree with your thoughts. Russell was wonderful and brought a lot of joy back to the show. Anita was lovely but I fear she’ll struggle on the Latin. Can’t wait for tomorrow’s show now!

    Like

  3. deborah molyneaux

    Favorite couple …….. Robin and Anita
    Worst couple ………. Brendan and Lulu
    Selfpity award goes to ………Robbie Savage ( Seriously needs to get a grip )
    Best dressed …….. Got to be Katya’s ballroom gown
    Worst dressed …… Tess , looked like a purple Paso cape was wrapped round her
    Most entertaining …….. I think we will all agree its got to be Russell ( gave it his all )

    Like

  4. Fab blog! Lulu needs to remember her routines and not rely on her past.

    I know Craig can be cutting but here is absolutely no need for Len to invite Audley to punch him.

    I can see we are going to have the props again this series so lots of faffing abaht

    Like

Tell Tasha.

